Ulog 06: Jingle Bells in July

in #ulog6 years ago

image

I feel contented sitting here listening to my daughter practice her piano lesson. It’s not like she’s pounding out Bach or Beethoven with her small hands on that keyboard, but she’s slowing and surely improving her musical ability. For that I am happy. I hope that she will be able to play a longer piece in a year. For now, Jingle Bells in the middle of summer is good enough.

Secondly, I made a new friend today. I don’t know anybody else locally who is into steemit. But out of sheer luck, I found someone who work in the same organization as I do and she’s also Vietnamese, which is an added bonus.

We arranged to have lunch at a popular Chinese restaurant. They have another location in Chinatown which has been highly rated. I arrived late because a meeting was overran. She assured me it was okay and to take my time. We ended learning a lot about each other. I am fascinated by her work in machine learning and its application in scientific discovery of diseases. The hour was short and we parted way. We said we would do it again next time. I returned to my office refreshed and wrote a heartfelt memo to my staff thanking them for a great year and how humbled and proud to be working with them.

The third reason why I am happy this evening was that this new friend shared our selfie taken at the restaurant in a discord channel and a young Steemian commented that I don’t look as old as my 40-years-old body would suggest. My nose grew by at least a mile.

So thank you friends close and far. Sometime simple acts of kindness go a long way in bringing joy to one.

Sort:  

Vi and I should jam together on the piano sometime! ;)

Thanks again for the great conversation and delectable lunch (and leftovers!!!). Sorry I had to rush to another meeting. Perhaps @dhimmel could join us next time!

Oh and you forgot to talk about this incident right next to us: IMG_5717.JPG

Certainly, what a cool coincidence that @trang and @nuoctuong are both Steemians from Vietnam in Philadelphia.

Hope to also see you at a future #steemphilly meetup, which are usually announced by @steemphilly or @hypnopreneur.

I look forward to it, @dhimmel! I heard you’re at Penn as well.

Oh yeah, I forgot about that! Thanks for eating lunch with me. Vy just like to play easy stuff. I hope someone will inspire her.

Get Automated DAILY upvotes! FREE

steem.link/more

Get 0.1 Free Steem Just To Join

Chúc mừng @nuoctuong, bạn đã nhận được một upvote 55%. Tôi là con bot của cộng đồng Việt Nam trên Steemit. Tôi được tạo ra bởi nhân chứng @quochuy và được uỷ quyền, tín nhiệm bởi các thành viên Việt Nam, hôm nay tôi vote cho bài của bạn để ủng hộ bạn. Tôi hi vọng sẽ được thấy nhiều bài viết hay từ bạn.

Chúc bạn vui vẻ, và hẹn gặp lại một ngày gần đây.

The joy of listening to a son playing the piano has no equal.
Your daughter is going to be an artist, I know.

Enjoy her improvement.!

I hope one day I'll accidentally jam a fellow steemians too.
We trully have a lot to discuss.

Thats a very big organ you have there.

I hope we can hear your daughter playing the piano some day :)

That will be the day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74