Evicted spaces (ULOG 02)

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Evicted spaces

These days, when a friend was leaving the country, we decided to meet for coffee and try not to let our hearts get so hurt by the goodbye. Looking at my scrawny, sad, skinny friend, he gave me, without telling me, the reasons for his departure. I approached him and with a strong embrace I gave him the support he was looking for in my arms. We sat in a cafeteria that had once been a space for lectures and readings.

The cafeteria was a little dirty and the air conditioning wasn't working, so we decided to go out and sit for a while on one of the benches in a nearby square. While we were there, a vagabond approached us several times in a threatening manner, but my friend kept him away with gestures and words. We wanted to talk in the short time we had left.

There, in the middle of the afternoon, half seriously and half jokingly, he told me that his life was becoming more and more like that homeless man's. There was no reason to tell me how difficult his life had been, sometimes you can appreciate the silences, but he wanted to do it. As a friend I heard every word, which even for me was bitter, hard, definitive. I felt that I was getting used to these goodbyes, to the same words, to the same tunnel, to the same end. I don't feel well here anymore, he told me, the country is kicking me out. How loud you hear when objects break, but how difficult it is when a man's voice breaks.

We got up from the bench and walked slowly as if we didn't want to say goodbye. As we moved a little further away, the tramp ran to the bench , picked up cardboard and lay down on it. My friend and I drew a grimace that tried to be a smile. That square, that bench was no longer for everyone, but for the vagabond who had made it his home. That's why he tried to take us away, to throw us away. Back home, I thought like the bench, there's the country. It no longer belongs to us, it no longer belongs to all of us, we can no longer be in it. We were evicted!

Thanks for the reading and until a new opportunity

Sort:  

I understand... he wanted his bank back... crazy!

Saying goodbye to friends is always hard ☹️

That's right, my friend @mayliberti. Very difficult. A big hug for you and thanks for your support.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

I don't feel well here anymore, he told me, the country is kicking me out

That is what many, many people feel.

It no longer belongs to us, it no longer belongs to all of us, we can no longer be in it. We were evicted!

I thought some years ago, while seeing the seemingly unending lines to buy in some places "that place is no longer for me". The people who have the time to wait in line for 4 hours straight has evicted us also.

That's right, @sansoncarrasco. Little by little we have been evicted from our own country. They're kicking us out, they're closing the doors on us. A hug

Greetings, brave storyteller!
Finish the Story Contest - Weeek #21 is out, crispy and warm, for the first time on the Bananafish blog!

Nice day, @banananafish's friend! I'll be right there with you. I embrace you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85