Ulog No. 18 "City Turkey and Burritos by Bike"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ulog6 years ago

I've been riding (bicycle) more than I've been writing over the past week. To work and play, fun and food. Here's a quick look at some of my experiences this past weekend.

City Turkey

Gobble Gobble! Riding along a busy one-way street in the bike lane I noticed this turkey trotting along the side of the road. It's not rare for people to see turkeys in Minneapolis, yet I personally see them only once or twice a year. When I shared with a local bike group some of the viewers were more intrigued by the unusual vehicle in the photo than they were by the turkey.
bike1.jpg
I hadn't noticed the odd vehicle when I was focused on whether or not the turkey was going to make a dash for the vehicle lanes, or worse (?) the bike lane. Now I'm curious. What is it? A van/truck with six wheels and semi truck-like smoke stacks. Odd indeed. I can't help wondering what would motivate a person to build and drive such a vehicle. Any guesses about its purpose? It seems to be ideal for hauling quite a few people plus cargo. I thought of a touring band, but they would want their music equipment covered and secured, not in an open truck bed. A family or group of friends going camping, perhaps?

Mirror, Mirror on the Van-Truck

Notice the turkey's reflection in the vehicle's shiny surface? Maybe it was checking to see how its feathers were looking that morning... Someone in the bike group made my photo into a meme and said I can share it...

bike10.jpg
Meme credit: C. Bruno

Biking for Burritos

I'd been craving a Taco Cat veggie burrito and my significant other either read my mind or had the same idea. Unfortunately, by the time he finished work that evening (an important release for his team of developers was happening) we arrived too late. The bartenders said Taco Cat had closed for the night earlier than usual because of the Minnesota State Fair. Staffing their food truck on the fairgrounds was a priority. We briefly considered riding to the food truck, but I was dangerously close to hangry. It would have been a long endeavor and I generally avoid the fair. It's not my thing. Fortunately this city is full of good restaurants and you typically don't have to bike far to find one. After sharing a beer, (pre-ride carbs) we rode to Hi-Lo Diner. My body must have really wanted quick energy after waiting for a late dinner and riding. I ordered a pancake for an appetizer and gobbled it up :)
bike5.jpg

His appetizer was called "Top the Tater" French Fries: potatoes buried in sour cream, chives, and bacon. Classic diner food, right?

bike4.jpg

And at last we got a burrito. It was good, but days later I'm still thinking about riding over for a Taco Cat burrito soon. Now that we live outside of their bicycle-only delivery area, we bike to them instead of having them ride to us. Maybe knowing I can't call and have Taco Cat show up at my door makes me want it more: it feels good to earn your meals with happy pedaling.

bike3.jpg

Until my next ulog... ride on, steem on, and blog about it :)

cyclefeed.jpg

What is cyclefeed?

I'm excited to share with cycling enthusiasts!
This post tells you what's up: How to Participate: Use #cyclefeed in your Posts!

Gratitude to @robmolecule and @mrprofessor for creating and curating #cyclefeed.

steemit.helmet.jpg
Thanks to @surpassinggoogle for initiating #ulog
All photos are my own.

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in the form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Congratulations @mininthecity! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95