RIP power supply...

in #ulog6 years ago

I'm guessing it might not be common for other people, but at this point we've lost so many things to electrical storms I'm not willing to take any chances. Every single time I hear thunder, all computers get shutdown. A friend tells me yesterday I'm exaggerating, but.... am I?




It might be more connected to the fact that the home that we own is not a new construction. So maybe there grounding work was not done up to code, but even then, this is not the first place that I've lived in where I've lost a piece of electronic gear to an electrical storm.

So far in about three years of living here, we've lost:

  • (2) Power Supplies
  • (1) Video Card
  • (2) Hard drives
  • (1) Router

Logic dictates these can't be total coincidences or anything remotely close to "bad luck" - But, I'm open to some suggestions. Now, before you tell me to check the grounding on the power sockets, and not be so useless. I would like to inform you that I have, and it reads correctly, so I'm not sure exactly what's happening there.

In any case, this is just the time of the year when if I say good by abruptly (in chat of course), people should probably assume a thunder just hit really close to home and I'm racing to save my hard drive from mother nature and nothing else.

I wonder if this is common in florida? Has anyone had a similar experience out there?


• A video answer to Jerry Banfield's Idea of Removing the flags
• mother and niece
• We are close to bottom, HOLD your coins!!
• Facebook, please go away! - Facebook to buy Coinbase?
• Yes... finally Cetacea Odontoceti Delphinidae

Sort:  

Would a surge protector suffice in this situation? It would suck to use one on every outlet in the home, but you could put one on your most expensive electronics. You also must consider that the power could be traveling through other communication lines into the home like ethernet cables.

An important thing to keep in mind is that the energy from a lightning strike can travel through communication cables that are connected to a cable box, phone, or modem. If these cables are not also properly connected to a surge protector, the overvoltage can travel into the device that it is directly connected to and damage the circuit board.

You can find some pretty reasonable information here. Last resort would be having an electrician come out and inspect everything.

the computers are plugged to them and still, they got fried.

Thank you for the link, Im going to read a bit.

Damn well I hope you can figure out some kind of solution.

I was precisely yesterday doing the same, I hear lightining and I plug of main computer. We also got fried our once. In fact sky is rather ominous now.

my laptop died a terrible death about a year ago. Just got a new (old one, new to me) so I intend to keep this one alive for another decade...

;)

well laptops are more delicate to replair, at least the main pc we could chagne the power supply, the thing is that we had the data scattered non redundantly on several hardrives and one died that one lightning... XD It was a big mess. So now we have all plugged in a way we can easily turn off everything if I see a storm coming... hahaha be paranoid "sheets" happen LOL

Hmm. Is lighting striking your house or is it an overload issue? (Nit sure how you call them in english) maybe check the "safety switches" that flip when theres some kind of power surge.
Its either your wiring or the safety switches arent working correctly.

It might be something of the sort, now that you mention it the local power company did offer to install something with a similar name a while ago, but I remember it being expensive.

I dont know what exactly you put in your houses since i know we dont use same sockets in Europe or have the same voltage? i think...
But you have to have something like this.

If you have the old kind, that might be the problem since when we replaced the old ones now we have 0 issues. They are super sensitive and just flip on any power surge.

we got those, yeah... breakers... but I suspect ours might be fakenewsing us, they are old too..

Breakers in the U.S. are not surge sensitive unless you use GFI breakers, and those are not designed for surge protection.

hrmmm good to know...

that explains a lot

Very sad.. I think you could recover soon

Man, that power supply was toasted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66188.19
ETH 3564.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14