Reinventing the weekend

in #ulog6 years ago

It's been a lifetime since the concept of weekend, in my life at least, has a more mainstream meaning. A week of hard work, the mandatory tgif, and then to sleep in on Saturday. But honestly, I find myself rejecting it even more than before.

Now, I'm under no delusion that I'm lacking the mental bandwidth to get stuff done, truthfully there is always a way we can push ourselves a little harder specially if we know the goals we are trying to achieve. But the emotional predisposition, so to speak, is simply lacking.

I've recently entered some interesting debates with myself. The idea of taking care of something now, today, or waiting for the weekend has new variables that constrain flexibility by a lot.

For one, I must apologize that I've not been putting out judge content for the openmic, since long listening sessions are not impossible at the moment, but very difficult to pull off. It does make me feel like I'm slacking a bit, like I'm neglecting the community, but I hope I can be forgiven as I fine tune my current situation.

I must be sincere with myself and demand no excuses. As the old saying goes "where there is a will, there's a way" and that's that. So I'm going to possibly write a routine down, and give it a go. There is no reason why I can't find the best balance possible, something that works, at least for the moment being.

Off to work my friends, hope everyone started the day with strong coffee, I sure need it.

Much love

@meno

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I start everyday off with a strong enough cup of coffee to convince myself that I can get up and put my big boy pants on. Of course, that takes a couple other cups of N.A. strength Joe, to get to the pants wearing, and out the door mode.

I've been fortunate enough to have had long spells in my life where I only knew what day it was based on if it were in fact Taco Tuesday or how many tacos I had left?!? I'm not kidding at all, flatlanders wouldn't understand NorCal Hill folk know what I'm talmbout. In those days I'd actually drink so much yerba mate that I'd ensure the necessary come down noon beer.

What can I say, I've lived a blessed existence. I'm now humbled by ownership of a 9-5 money-frieday gig so I too think about making lists of important stuff to accomplish, but it never happens. I can't hardly find the time to squeeze out the satifaction of a shitpost. Well, it's time to grab life by the bum gun and make my .005 USD and put my pants on.

Posted using Partiko Android

🏆 Hi @meno! You have received 0.1 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe too and increase the reward for @meno :) | For investors.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Ah yes, the weekend! When you stop working for your boss and start working on the things you could not get to during the week. For me it always either the lawn or the pool or putting up some pictures or even the grocery shopping. There is never enough time no matter how you plan it unfortunately! Over time you just somehow manage the tradeoffs to get things done...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Es un excelente material, siempre compartiendo tus reflexiones con nosotros o contándonos parte de tus días.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74