Nobody cares about DVDs anymoresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ulog6 years ago

As you might know, I've been cleaning up house for the past weeks big time. The byproduct of such activity is to find things you thought were lost long ago. There is always that one box you forgot about stashed somewhere so that you would not forget, yet you forgot, that makes you laugh at yourself. Well, last night I stumbled with my DVD collection.

large_thumbnail.jpg

source:3dwarehouse

The good stuff


There was a time when these things were amazing and it was not that long ago. One of my favorite stores FYE existed happily next to my old work and I was a regular there. I would not only collect movies, which of course I love, but concerts, tons of concerts.

As I'm dusting off this old box and looking through it's content, I had to ask myself something. Is this useful at all anymore? - I mean, yes I still like Paul Simon's music, that hasn't changed, but with the proliferation of youtube, vimeo, spotify, etc all these songs are available to me with a click or two. Point being that the once convenient DVDs are now inconvenient by a long shot.

So I did the only rational thing a man could do, should do; I donated them. Funny enough, the lady who receives the donations gave me a funny look, it must not be common for someone to donate a DVD collection, but I don't know why that is. It could be that she thinks I'm an idiot for letting go something valuable or that she thinks I'm an idiot for thinking they are valuable at all, the jury is not out on that one.

Informational Revolution


I remember watching a show growing up that fascinated me, I'm sure those who belong to my decade remember it vividly too: Beyond 2000. Of course 2k came and left, and none of the things the show ever predicted became true, but it's not because the possibilities were not there per say, it's just humanity went down a separate path.

You see the belief was that humanity was about to tap into an Energy Revolution. It was because of this all the things that would go with such possibility were dreamed off, the one that made me smile the most, flying cars. As you might know, such thing never did come and today, almost two decades later the electric vehicle is beginning to take some market share, but still struggling to survive.

So what happened? Why did the inventors not make us those flying jetpacks to go to work without having to deal with traffic? Well the answer is simple, we focused on information, and that is precisely the thing we value and need the most.

It was natural then that the scarcity of access had to be removed, the mediums of dissemination had to become painless and transparent. So, along came the ipod, the napsters, the torrents and an avalanche of accessibility that has led us to our current reality.

I leave you with one possible contemplation:

Tomorrow's power won't be held by those nations with more oil rigs, but with the ones that control the flow of our most precious resource: information

Sort:  

Its true...and great to donate and make space... but I love film. And I love having a collection of rare unique beautiful movies that I can lend to people and talk about with. Also when the broadband cuts out I can become a pirate sailing out on my DVD boat like 'Haharr, the internet doesn't control what/when/how I watch fillems!" Also, when's JuJu gonna come out on DVD? @vachemorte @juliakponsford

Hi Sazzler it's been a while hope you are doing fantastic. DVD sucks. I have a few box of it. It's all about digital now :)
Much love and Hi @meno !

Well 3 week ago we had some burglars. They did took my Godfather DVD collection out of the closet but didn't steal it! So yes, DVDs are history :)

Omg that's so funny! And so thoughtful of them... :p

Could also be that they didn't lite the series, because we all know what the mafia does with burglars :)

I am one of those people who stopped buying dvds a decade ago but still finds it hard to let go of them.

In fact, I'm moving my remaining stuff out of my parent's house ( mainly books and film that have been stalled there for many years now, due to me moving around all the time ) and am seriously considering to take my DVD collection with me.

Part of the reason is nostalgia, another part is my taste in movies. Most of my ( favorite ) films can't be found on Netflix or YouTube and I stopped torrenting years ago, when I started filmmaking.

I totally agree with you that this is definitely an information age.
Which reminds me of what my filmmaking partner in crime told me yesterday:

People don't go to YouTube to watch (indie) film projects like ours. They go to YouTube to learn. I guess he's right and I don't blame them for it.

Who knows, we might end up making ( film ) tutorials in the near future

I totally agree with that. People are stop using the physical medias with the improvement of internet speed and servers which a huge quantity of space, and even with streaming and Netflix.
I think that could be the era of low HD computers with a high velocity of internet.
Thanks for sharing!

I walk by my DVD everyday wondering when my wife will just throw them away since it has been years since we watched them. At least my daughter still know what they are despite also preferring her tablet with on demand steaming. Incredible to see the amount of information out there and makes you wonder whatbis next...

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm actually writing a song about this... sort of.
Getting rid of a DVD collection shows up in the song:)

cant wait to hear it! hahaha

@meno, Old boxes at our home always contains one or other aspect of memories and when we deep dive into these memories then that gives good and sad essence both because memories always give the mixed feelings. Thank you so much for sharing this piece with us.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

LOL, u can’t remember the last time I used a DVD it was pretty hype for a few years and then when we had to move over to blu-Ray for HD, so I needed a new TV, a blu-Ray player and special type of disk, not a chance!

I think everyone just saw through it and was like this is annoying so streaming became a thing!

I’m sure people around the world are still enjoying content via this medium and will do for a long time

Posted using Partiko iOS

I got a DVD of inception as a present off the grandmother. Great film granny!! when I went to watch it I figured out I didn’t possess a DVD player anymore.

Posted using Partiko iOS

My kids still watch em lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63003.41
ETH 3122.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52