My brother is here too

in #ulog6 years ago

My older brother arrived last night, we made it to the airport a bit late, but absolutely no one was in a bad mood. After all, its not often we get to hang out together, dad and two of his kids. After leaving the airport, we went to a local yogurt shop, to sit down, talk silly things and enjoy some memories.


arepuertos.net - Jose Joaquin de Olmedo

Don't ask me how it happened, but it's somewhat of a tradition of the land. Very much in the same way you would visit a burger joint, or a taco stand late at night (depending on the city) in America. Here, you go to a yogurt place, as we call them, order some cheesy breads with yogurt and and hang out until the time you see fit.

Now before you say Yogurt is not an Ecuadorian thing, to learn my foods, yes, I know. But, apparently at some point in time there was a considerable migration of Persian families to Guayaquil, the city where I'm currently in, and the Ecuadorians of the time embraced that aspect of the culture and assimilated it.

We drove home, sat in the kitchen again and talked some more. About nothing serious really, because the conversations with dad, specially these days, are never serious to begin with. He used to tell us hilarious "alternative facts" when we were kids, and of course, he started to bring those up all over again; My favorite Dad teaching "Cows drown through the butt"(Yes I know, "wisdom")

Maybe it's the nostalgia talking, but last night my older brother tells me he's probably going to move back too. Not now, he said, but when his daughter goes off to college in a few years. Of course, the prospect of us being kids again, of sharing more family time like we used to sounds awesome, but I know it's wishful thinking, and possibly nothing more.

The only sad thing about this, or at least to me, is that when my brother said that, my fathers face lit up as if he was being offered a lotto ticket that was sure to win. I know he's not been the perfect father, but then again, who has? But, I think in his mind being able to have us close, even if its now that he's about to become an official Senior citizen, means a lot to him, like a second opportunity to be dad.

On another note, I'm supposed to leave for my doctor's appointment soon, in 3 hours to be exact. I'm a little nervous, but it's all good. Funny enough, I've been feeling a lot better already, but I don't know if it's because I'm actually doing better, or because I want to be doing better, which is not the same.

I'll sign off for now, but I'm sure to write something else when the sun sets or maybe before. I'm glad I'm doing this free writing stuff, it's quite therapeutic.

Much love my friends

@meno

Sort:  

Good to hear you are home! Dads always have little sayings....with my “ boys “ we all had large appetites and Dad ( me) always wanted to protect his boys when eating. “I will eat that pizza boys it might be poisonous 😇”
Enjoy family @meno 👍

That sounds great. Your dad must be super hopeful as like you said a second chance and who knows maybe little Meno's running around at some point.

Querido amigo, para los padres siempre es un excelente motivo de alegría tener a sus hijos cerca...
Yo perdí tiempo de mi vida y ya no lo puedo recuperar (ambos fallecieron).
Me alegra que todo esté muy bien con tu gente, y deseo que tengas éxito en tu cita... "Deja los nervios, hombre"
Te mando un fuerte abrazo y saludos a todos.

Saludos desde Venezuela...
THANK YOU!

Great to see you enthusiastic! I hope you enjoy the trip and it all turns out be a great excuse to spend time with family. It’s making me think about heading back and visiting my mom too! I am actually traveling as well as my older brother just happened to be traveling to the same city! Guess we will both have some time with them today.

Hi, I really like your content have an upvote.

This post has been upvoted by a voting bot.

I love free writing too - for freeing!

@meno love for your little hero and your family. Thanks.

Gathering and meeting again with your sibling will surely feel very beautiful, family is one place full of love and affection.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74