Just another Monday

in #ulog5 years ago (edited)

It seems at times that the planet has forgotten what is the default setting for South Florida and modified the thermostat. How is it possible that I'm waking up to 42 degrees? I barely own any clothes for the cold, simply because they are not necessary here.

While sitting in my car, blasting the heat, I'm listening to the "events of the weekend" on NPR, the viral video of a young boy who "harassed" a Vietnam veteran.

Honestly, as they say these days, it's a nothing burger, a big problem out of nothing and the whole narrative has been manipulated to better fit agendas. It truly angers me to see, to hear all these excuses to demonize the other side as monsters. Of course they both do it, it's part of the game of politics I guess and it's quite tiring if I'm to be frank.

Interestingly enough, today is MLK day, a day that everyone is supposed to remember the vision of unity, but unity does not sell as much in this attention economy of ours, hence it's best to keep the positive messages short.

I'm not trying to be a cynic, I'm really not, but there are days, just like today, that I wonder if our ability to collaborate at scale with our political tooling will forever be attached to fanatism and unnecessary conflict. Which is to say, that the idea that we will one day find Harmony and peace is a pipeline dream we should archive next to unicorns.

We seem to thrive in conflict, to a point that when there isn't one, we fabricate it. This weekend is a good example of my point, but of course you can throw a rock into the night and hit an epitome.

Not to leave anyone with a bitter taste in their mouth, this short rant of mine is not a doomsday omen or anything that tragic. I'm simply venting a little and this blog is the ideal place to do so.

Humanity... How fickle can we be, and it's just Monday.

@meno

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

After I entered in College, I become more and more interact with political ideas and I pass by all the possibles ways of thinking which has the idea of freedom in their core... So, one thing that always get me change my way to see life and now the main idea that make me a anarchocapitalist is that, when you start to talk about political issues, in any aspect, people try to be romantic when they talk in their perspective of thinking, and when you use the emotion you are being blind. That is why, when I talk about politics, I always see people getting paths because of emotion, and that is why I think people needs to read more and understand that, emotion are the wrong path to solve problems.

While I agree with you, I do think there is a certain level of need for emotion in politics. Emotion provides you a certain perspective that profits do not. Being able to perceive the emotion of others and empathize with them is important; political decisions create emotional impacts. Decisions need to be made logically. If the decision maker cannot remove the bias created by emotion, a different decision maker is appropriate.

i often think the same about fanaticism.
On an up note:

The issue is that these days everything so much more accessible whereas in the past it was mostly restricted to those experiencing the situation. I have thought in the past that society is still much better off than it was years ago but it could be also was is fed to me daily. At least on a personal level, I do not experience these issues daily while they do occur without a doubt.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I will say my Monday today was stressful A lot

ventint go is good, there is a day when conditions are not very pleasant, however try to think of something that motivates you, it is not good to spend all day badly ... if you can distract your mind with something that motivates you, you could feel best.

Nazi

Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

on NPR

Neoliberal BS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @meno!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.165 which ranks you at #256 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 255).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 240 contributions, your post is ranked at #10.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15