All those dead accounts...

in #ulog6 years ago
I'm somewhat sad about this I won't lie. I mean, I know that quite a few people have left STEEM, gone to greener pastures (they don't exist, but they think) in an attempt to find cryptopian happiness of some sort. Some, I'm sure will be back, but the numbers... Ohhh! the numbers, they are so freaking high!



img src

I've prepared a visual representation of what is going on with the followers of yours truly. Yes, it's a graveyard. Funny enough, just a few days ago I was celebrating reaching three thousand followers only to find out today, that's not true, not even close.

If you have the fortitude to face the truth, there is this website you must visit. It's going to tell you some surprising information, and honestly you won't like what you see. I mean, yes you will like some things you see, the website is great, but you won't like other things you see, you won't like the graveyard.




What can we do?


I've no clue honestly. Most of my followers are stiffer than a shop-towel left in the sun. As a matter of fact 1/3 of my followers are dead accounts, one freaking third. Don't believe me? Behold the evidence:



Not good my friends, not good....

Are you real?


On a serious note, this is a bit sad I have to say. I wonder how many of them will come back after the cake is all gone and buckets of soapy water are being slushed on the floor. Imagine how difficult it will be to collect tokens a year from now, two years from now. Imagine how many posts one most to to collect 1 STEEM, if it's valued at 10 bucks or something. Now, that would be freaking harsh...

Anyways... I say we flag the dead... I told @steemitadventure and @overkillcoin this very thing. Let's let them know they done f... up. (I'm joking)

How many zombies you got? let me know...


http://www.steemspectacles.com/


• Couching the Caveats
• Fishing the drafts
• Omg the fizzy water I lurv
• Does it translate somewhere else?
• People have concerns regarding Steem-ua, I get it, but...

Sort:  

I wrote to four of my dead follows yesterday. One of them is back already and I have messages from two more saying they're on their way.

Maybe we should have some sort of a homecoming event, where we all pick a few people we'd like to see back to nag about it.

This...my friend – is a bloody brilliant idea

I have ghost followers and dead followers....this is turning into a horror movie!
I wonder if I have any vampire followers.....

Yea I have 999 turn them upside down and they are zombie devils.

oh, we need to kill a new one soon.. make sure you stay on the up and up with the karmas

Checking pulse @meno ... Yep, I'm still alive! 😊

As far my "legion of followers," well ... 29 dead ones out of 299 ...

Thanks for posting this. I always like to say I am an optimist, but a realistic optimist. That is, I like "the good, the bad, and the ugly." Straightup. 👍

You letting us know about this website allows us to perform an occasional "reality check" about how we're doing.

Thanks again!

My pleasure my friend... I'm glad you've checked on the legion hahahahah

38% of my followers are dead. another 40% have not interacted in the last 100 posts and only 28% are truly active followers. it may seem low, but what I would say is that when you are working with redfish all the time, the drop off are way higher than if I was dealing with minnows and dolphins

Well. That accounts for 106% of your followers.

Good thing I know I am not very good at math =p

lol do you know I just went back and made sure I added that up right lol

We can get rid of self voting, bots and the likes of DTube/DLive/whathaveyou votes and let content rise on it's own merit. When a serious content creator finds they are competing with $100 selfie votes on one liner shitposts they will leave. It's simple math really; when all we get is $0.00 for 2 days of work, we will start doing something else. The effect is 2 fold, because besides being content creators, we are also consumers, so other content creators loose followers etc. I've been complaining about this since day 1. Flagging folks into oblivion doesn't help either; it might stop platform abuse, but will also chase others off the platform. Over the past 6 months I have found that my point of view on this is rather unpopular; so be it, flag away. Thanks for bringing this up @meno. Greetings!

What you are pointing out is an awareness of unfairness, rather than disappointment with rewards. Fakebook don't pay no rewards, so leaving here because @haejin gets 5% of the rewards pool makes no sense from a purely financial standpoint.

Dogs, octopi, and crows have all been shown to be extremely sensitive to fairness, and humans more so.

My own motivation for being here has nothing to do with emuneration, and everything to do with free speech, so I intellectually rationalize the unfairness and consider it irrelevant. That's just me, though.

It is a real psychological harm to be treated unfairly, and people avoid that harm in droves. We are social beings, and reckon society should give us a fair shake. Financially, that's not happening on Steemit, and as you point out, fixing that problem will dramatically improve retention.

Thanks!

Hi meno. I did a post on this very thing about 2 weeks ago lol. I am in the same boat 737 followers, 211 dead and 696 ghosts . I have 10 percent loyal followers which I think is about average as a percentage.

I'm bad at math, so correct me where I'm wrong, please.

211+696=907 dead or ghost followers. Of your 737 followers, that means that 123% of your followers aren't active loyal followers. Where do you get the 10% from?

I have something like 70 followers who have commented or voted on my last 10 posts which is about 10 percent of the total. I think most accounts average about 10 percent or so.773 -696 is 77 so 10 percent.
If you have 700 followers dead and ghost will overlap so it will always be out of 100 percent. Ghost and dead could be duplicated as the same user.

"Ghost and dead could be duplicated as the same user."

Hadn't thought of that.

Thanks!

we gotta start flagging them... teach em a lesson... what say ye?

It's even more than one third... almost a half.
I'm more than sure that there are many sock puppets and bot accounts among them. The most noteworthy case confirming this is when 1 post brought me about 150 new subscribers in just a 3 minutes.
Of course not all of my dead followers are bots, we are really loosing active users... and it's sad:(

Follow1.JPG

But I'm more surprised by the number of ghosts. They are active on the daily basis but there are no votes, no comments from these people...

What was the reason for them to follow me, if they are not interested in my content? Why not unfollow? FpF? Perhaps the upcoming hardfork with the RC model will make these people rethink their following.

Oddly, just as I noted regarding my own account, you have more ghost and dead followers than you have followers altogether.

There's a simple math error in there somewhere, as I am confident my rewards indicate I have some actual, living followers that do engage on my posts. I bet you do too.

Without even looking I can tell you that of my 900 followers, about a third are bots, about a 1/3 are dead and out of that last third about 2-3 dozen actually follow. I came to the conclusion a while back that to have a genuine 200 following I would need something north of about 4000-5000 followers.

that seems sadly true... but then again, maybe dunbar is playing a hand on this.

I have 492 dead followers.
But I look on the positive side.
Even the dead like me.
😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23