Couching the Caveats

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)
In one of those vlogs I tend to do these days someone mentioned that I always seem to careful when I'm voicing my opinion. Meaning that I beat around the bush too much, I don't get to the meat of the issue fast enough. There is some truth to that, I must admit. But, I do so because life has taught me that if I don't I lose the line of communication anyways.




Couching the Caveats


This is not entirely my expression mind you, but I find it very fitting to describe my tactic, my little technique. Simply because it's an attempt to be considerate while at the same time being effective when I am possibly opposing someone's opinion.

Let's say for the sake of making a point that I was having a debate with someone who believed the earth was flat. Yes, there is a considerable amount of people on earth that subscribe to this idea, still today. Let me ask you, What is more effective? To insult, to ridicule, or to ask to see the edge, the place where the world ends?

Granted that example might be a little too easy, but it drives my point home without insulting, and that is the key element here, the ones who think that I mistakenly believe the world to be round. Now, does this mean I will effectively convince everyone of my stance? Of course not, but there will those times were the other person will concede to some of my points, and others when they actually agree.

Debates are fun but useless some say


My good friend @clayboyn says this quite often. Maybe because we have a friend in common who absolutely loves debating. He thrives in the tumultuous waters of disagreement. Why? That is a question our friend should answer, not me, but this is an observable phenomena.

I do have to ask myself what would be the purpose on engaging in debate with someone, if that person is determined to do so only for an ego boost. Meaning that I can recognize I will be the excuse for that person performing some sort of self affirmation. The old "Im right, because you are wrong" banality.

Now of course, this does not mean I don't want to discuss an issue, or voice my opinion just because I fear disagreement, no. This just means that I must be aware for my own sanity, really, if I'm about to partake on an action of futility.

Caveats are Weapons


And that is kind of my point with this strange post. They seem to allow some sort of mental inception, a lowering of someone's guard, to at least consider a counter point, if only for a minute or two. I'm not entirely sure if this is the case for the majority of people, but at least anecdotally this has shown to be mostly true for me.

Just think about this, you just read a whole post about couches, with a picture of a couch. Yet, there was nothing about furniture here, not even the mention of a store. So what just happened? Did you just get mentally incepted?

I guess, we will never know...

• Fishing the drafts
• Omg the fizzy water I lurv
• Does it translate somewhere else?
• People have concerns regarding Steem-ua, I get it, but...
• Now we are selling witness votes?
Sort:  

How pravelant is ego boosting, debating, and acts of futility on social media?

Ahh... I see.

It appears you've summarized something we're going to witness on a daily basis as long as we're online. :)

Thanks for the article. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I also wasn't sitting on a couch, nor focusing on the couch.... the words rang out for me louder than the couch the entire time.

This place seems a little less toxic than most social media, but this still holds true.

Thank you for reading and for disregarding the couch.

;p

'Tis a matter of perception, is it not?

When perceiving only two dimensions, th'Earth appears as a disc. When perceiving only three dimensions, it appears as a sphere. When perceiving only four dimensions, it appears as a hypersphere; and so on and so forth.

When perceiving only two dimensions whilst looking at the full Moon, it is very clear to see exactly where its edge is.

To perceive the Earth as a hypersphere, is to see that th'Earth is growing.

Oh this is my mental candy right here, thank you for sharing.

I would like to know where you stand on the importance of readers vs writers (authors) on Steemit. One doofus (who shall remain nameless) argues that readers are far more important than writers. He apparently hasn't done much fishing because he doesn't understand you don't catch many fish without bait. Beat around the bush on that one. (I bet a buck you're gonna say they are both important. Cop out!)

hahhahha ok ok...

puts on the ninja costume

Yes they are both important, but they are not equally so.

Here is where I stand:

Quality writers have outward projection, well, quality content creators. So, they are crucial to bring traffic and possibly more investment. Without investment none of this would matter much, since this whole thing is supposed to be a financial revolution dressed in ascii characters.

So, they represent the main element of the successful model's pie.

But, and this is a big But!

It's quite reasonable to imagine a system of incentives for content consumers that would allow the regular joe doe, or jane to buy a little bit of tokens and make some sunday icecream money while consuming their favorite content and supporting their favorite authors.

However, we wear many hats, I write a lot, and read a ton too. Maybe that is the reason why I write a lot.

So I copped out a bit, but I did use a good caveat and of course, it was couched nicely.

In my never humble opinion, you nailed it pretty well. You can stay, but that other doofus has to go. Anybody got a hangin' rope? ;-) (Thanks!)

Loading...
jajajaja me gusta tu postura.
Estimado @meno Soy de las personas que piensan que es valioso mantener su posición en cuanto a su perspectiva de la vida o de un tema en cuestión, pero siento que debo tener la mente abierta y pensar en la perspectiva de la otra persona, puesto que por algo debe pensar así esta persona es como ponerse en la posición el otro. Me encanta tratar de descubrir la vida desde los ojos de otra persona.
Me interesa conversar con la gente, a pesar de que no manejemos el mismo idioma, aunque sus costumbres sean distintas a la mía y su cultura diferente, me gusta aprender muchas cosas de diferentes lugares y las habilidades y destrezas de cada persona, así como sus historias.
Steemit es una excelente herramienta para eso, gracias a #steemit te he conocido a ti y a tantos amigos que me han servido de apoyo.
jajajajaja I like your posture.
Dear @meno I am one of those people who think that it is valuable to maintain their position regarding their perspective on life or a subject in question, but I feel that I must have an open mind and think about the perspective of the other person, since there is a reason why this person is like putting himself in the position of the other. I love trying to discover life from the eyes of another person.
I'm interested in talking to people, even though we don't speak the same language, even though their customs are different from mine and their culture, I like to learn many things from different places and the skills and abilities of each person, as well as their stories.
Steemit is an excellent tool for that, thanks to #steemit I've met you and so many friends who have been supportive.
Again...
THANK YOU!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57