Ulog #9: Omega stars shining on a Sunday

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

It started with #Ulog and is coming back to #Ulog.

On my blog Pay it forward: Spotlight on for inspiring power of positivity and the people who spread it out to the world, I wrote about how I was discovered in #payitforwad contest which got me into the said contest – which in turn led me to @ivan-g’s origami-making article. The sample stars on the blog looked cute that made me interested on making one myself. I went through the video referred to on the blog and created my very first omega star origami.

The creator on the video was not saying anything but the steps were easy to follow in general. I just had to pause it several times when I am lagging behind. I did not want to waste paper for my practice so I used an old newspaper. When I saw the measurement of paper to be used on the video, I did not bother about it anymore. “Anything square!” I thought. Since it is my first, I wanted to start with bigger size so it will be easy to fold and avoid the paper from ripping off. Alas, I made the first one without any damage.


My first ever omega star creation.😊

Seeing my first creation feels so exciting. I challenged myself to make more so I made the first batch yesterday. I used excess sheets from gift wrappers (one of the sheets even have "Merry Christmas"). It was really fun!

Today, on a lazy and rainy Sunday, I made more. I tried one-color red paper (also an excess from gift wrapping 😊) and realized one thing: If I use one-color material then it should be a really bright color otherwise it will look a bit dull and monotonous. I still prefer multi-colored paper – which led to me to try glossy magazine covers. Though there are writings that somehow counter the monotony, majority of its look is still white. I think the gift wrapper type with different designs and colors are still the best.

These are the ones made of glossy magazine cover.

While in the middle of putting together one of the stars, I remembered the flower and bow tie papers that my elder brother used to give me when we were young. When he wanted to amaze or surprise me, he uses real currency note to create the bow ties and give it to me as a gift. I remember the first time I got the bow tie, I asked him to show me how to make it but he won't do it. I unfolded the one he gave me and followed through the folding using a scrap paper. I realized later that some people in our place use the bow tie money to entice when giving gift to children. Bright idea! Instead of spending more for envelopes to wrap the money, just make the money look cute with the bow tie. That made me smile and paused from the stars. I made a flower and three bow ties. The flower was easy. For some reasons, I made several mistakes on my first attempt with the bow tie.


Note: many countries including the Philippines has a law against vandalism (crumpling, writing) on currency notes so please do not make it a hobby to use those for origami.

I just found out a new hobby that will keep me busy – no more idle time. I am thinking it can also be a good way to recycle and make use of old papers instead of just throwing them away. To make the finished product more colorful with these old papers, spraying them with paint or using water color will definitely help.

Here are the omega stars shining on a Sunday. 😊

I hope you had a blessed weekend, Steem world!

Sort:  

Awesome stars and the bows are cute :D also you can make origami envelopes xD I really like this one, also added the minowboost here since they don't upvote comments. Hope you find some more interesting models to make :)

Thank you for the boost @ivan-g! I will try the envelopes one day. And yes, I will try to find other designs too. 😊

You have been very busy @macoolette :D The stars look great. I'll look up how to do the bow ties - not sure if it works with the new plastic notes ...

Well, yes. I found this fun way to get busy 😊

Good luck with the bow ties. I'm not good at giving detailed instructions on a video but maybe it is something I would try someday. Or even at least photos with the sequence of folds. Let's see...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by -Killua from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thank you.
You too have a great day. 😊

Beautiful work. I love the flower and your omega stars.

Thank you. I'm glad you like them. 😊

Those look fun. I use to have a book called Dollar Origami. Learned to make a few. You are right it is perfect for kids gifts. Your stars would be pretty to tie on holiday packages.

It was fun! I even grab paper and make stars from time to time in between my other tasks. Yes, those are good for holiday stuff. As early as last week when I was making the stars, I was already thinking of either lantern or Christmas tree with them. 😄

A lot of the people in sales will start the holiday marketing campaigns by July. Actually Christmas in July is a pretty big thing here.
I hope you post about your holiday prep and traditions. It will be fun to see all the similarities and differences. Steemit in general should prove very interesting during the holiday season. There is such a rich blend of cultural diversity on the platform.

Wow, you have Christmas in July? So that beats the Philippines by starting Christmas after the Halloween, huh? 😀

People here would start displaying Christmas decors after our All Saints and All Souls Day in November 1 and 2 respectively. I see on social media that made us the country that celebrates Christmas the longest. But if you have Christmas in July then I guess that puts us on the second place. 😃

I think Steemit will be full of photos and stories about our holidays. It will not be different from other social media sites wherein you would see tons of posts about the festivities.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23