Ulog 8.25.18: Christmas came in August

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I rushed to the supermarket this afternoon for few grocery items and I literally stopped right when I stepped in. These are what greeted me!

20180825_194421.jpg

I have seen one post here on Steemit and a few photos on Facebook about the same findings others had in other malls. It was unbelievable until I myself witnessed this. I smiled after a while when I finally got back to my senses. Instead of going for my groceries, photo taking came first. There are many more Christmas decors on different sides on the floor but the crew started looking and smiling at me. I guess my reaction was obvious when I entered. Four quickly taken photos are enough. 😊

20180825_194311.jpg

The Philippines has been known to start celebrating Christmas very early in November right after All Saints and All Souls days on 1st and 2nd of November respectively. By 3rd of November, people start decorating their houses with Christmas stuff. This is how excited many Filipinos are about the holiday season.

20180825_194349.jpg

I don't understand what got into businessmen's head that they are doing this now. This is the very first year that I have seen business establishment selling out Christmas items this early.

20180825_194236.jpg

The implementation of our new tax system this year has caused prices of commodities to have significantly increased. I wonder if it is worth buying Christmas items this early and avoid Christmas rush or if there will still be Christmas sales in December with the real sense of sale prices.


Join #ccc and get guaranteed daily income and payout for newbies by following the honor code - The Creed - with conditions and limitations. Click here for the details. Thanks to @freedomshift for this initiative!

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Sort:  

Seems like you and I discussed this a couple of weeks ago. You better get going on those paper stars. Looks like we thought you were early now you are behind. ;D
Many stores where I live offer Christmas items year round. The leaves are beginning to turn colors now. That makes more people start to put out their fall decor. I am already doing a bit myself. Mostly just shifting to the golds and browns for fall.

Yes, I think this is when the saying "the earlier, the better" applies. 😃

In your experience, is it more practical in terms of prices to buy those stuff during its off-season? I haven't really tried to notice here though now that I captured these photos, maybe I can try to compare in December.

I don't know. I always find the best prices in January so that is when I try to shop. Let us know if December works out better.

Let's see... 😊

Hola @macoolette, las fotos están bellísimas, no creo que acá, hagan mucha decoración, cada año se ven menos cosas, creo que poco a poco ira desapareciendo la navidad en Venezuela. Cariños y besos.

Pase lo que pase, el espíritu de la Navidad está en nuestros corazones, no en las decoraciones. Ya sea que haya más, menos o ninguna decoración, la Navidad es Christmaa y aún vale la pena celebrarla.

Disfrute el resto del fin de semana. 😙

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51