Ulog #17 A Massive Learning Curve and Too Much Enthusiasm!

in #ulog6 years ago

If you had seen my last post #Ulog 16 you would have seen that I was very excited about creating journals that I was planning on (hopefully) selling through Amazon.

I have had a few 'oh no' moments where due to my newbie-ness that I had made some errors. I'm not a graphic designer and some of the technicalities I have found a bit confusing - for example 'bleeds' and trims etc are pretty new to me.

I was a little worried because I really care about how my designs look and want my future customers to be happy with them. The lovely @dreemsteem as bought one of my titles and I can't wait to hear her feedback.

I have also ordered one of my own for myself and I am looking forward to seeing the result of my creativeness - I can use it to write down new ideas for covers!

Today my parents came over for a visit and I was chatting to my mum about my journals and the fact that I can create a notebooks containing Ukulele sheet music. She said that one of her fellow Ukulele players was having a birthday and perhaps we could create a book to give her. I thought this was a wonderful idea so Mum and I searched for suitable designs. We came up with this one (I pray she is not on Steemit!).

Make Music Happen.png

I have just finished uploading it to Amazon so hopefully it will be available for purchase soon. Fingers crossed that mum's friend will love it for her birthday! I can see that I might be creating more of these with blank sheet music in because I am sure there are lots of budding song writers out there who would love a notebook like this!

In addition to the designing I have been renovating my bathroom and garden. It has been a very busy weekend. I am ready for a nice cold beer now so I will share those pictures in tomorrow's Ulog.

Ulog Header.gif

Until next time,

J x

Sort:  

Love your creative business mind!!!!!! I'll be SURE to let you know how it comes out!!!! ♥️

Congratulations @jenniferbailey! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

How does this work @jenniferbailey? Do you create the designs and then the purchaser prints them? Sounds a lovely way to get a very personal journal.

@Shanibeer - it is even better than that. I create the covers and the interiors and Amazon prints them when they are ordered. This means the only 'work' on my part is being creative and uploading the files. Of course there is quite a bit to learn on keywords and good titles/ subtitles so the designs can be found!

Wow, that's great, isn't it? I've just tried to find them on Amazon, where do I need to look?

@shanibeer the Ukulele on is here: https://amzn.to/2MVhAWC. I have published all of them under Windmill Bay Books - so you should be able to search for them that way. Sorry I missed your message have been away :)

Yep, I had loads of problems when trying to publish my paperback on Amazon. It took me a million tries to get my cover file to be accepted by the program.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54