#Ulog 002 - A real mental challenge

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I am currently trying to complete the Couch to 5k #running challenge in order to shed a bit of weight and get fitter.

There is an app that you install on your mobile which plans your runs for you and when used with headphones gives you instructions and tips whilst you run.

We picked a celebrity's voice to give us our narration. I picked Sarah Millican - which always tickles me as I imagine her sitting on a coach with her feet up with a sticky bun in one hand whilst she is giving me encouragement!

download (1).jpg

Source:

Last night was the third run of 'week 5'. It was a massive jump (or run!) from the first and second run. We had to run for 20 minutes straight, previously the most we had ever done was 3 runs totaling 16 minutes with walking in between.

I think Neil and I had avoided that run for at least a couple of weeks because we were completely daunted by it. Last night we could not put it off any longer and went for it.

It was purely a mental barrier and not a physical one! Both of us managed to run for 20 minutes without stopping and it actually wasn't bad at all.

It just goes to show how much your MIND can hold you back. Now we have got over this hurdle we KNOW that we can do it again.

Don't let your inner voice you convince you that you CAN'T do something - In the words of Sarah Millican 'You can do it, Pet'.

Until next time

J x

Sort:  

Well done for trying the Couch to 5k scheme. You might want to use the #running tag in your post as it is a major one.

I attend parkruns every saturday as my wife @bingbabe is a runaholic. Me? Well I keep trying and keep injuring my left calf every time I do.

If you can manage 20 minutes without stopping then you are doing better than me when my leg works. I can do around 1km then need to stop.

Thank you @slobberchops I have added the #running tag to my post. I keep learning daily :) I am sorry to hear about your calf, it must be really annoying! We are thinking about doing a Park Run at some point as we are getting to the point that we feel we might be able to make it all the way around.

If you can run without stopping for 20 minutes it wont be a problem for you. The whole course will take you 32-35 minutes at max.

@shanibeer and @steevc are both runners and there's quite a community on Steemit for running. #runningproject tag is another one you can use for running posts.

You might want to have a look at becoming an approved runner with @runningproject as that will bring you an extra vote on all your posts, not just running ones. You can find out more about it in this Status Report. Good luck - I'm still chuckling about Sarah Millican!

Actually @shanibeer I do intend to start running on a regular basis from next week when I finish this gig if my leg holds up. I know this wasn't directed at me, but I will take your advice!

That's great. I walk a lot of the time, and run when I feel it isn't going to lead to injury. For me, the main thing is getting out there three or four times a week - once you're up and out, the rest follows.

Oops, that was meant for @jenniferbailey, too complicated to edit as I am running out the door! Hope you get to read it @jenniferbailey!

Aargh, just made a mistake a left a comment for @slobberchops intended for you! I'll get my coat

@shanibeer - I found your comment so all is good! I have been doing mostly intervals so this was the first 'proper' run without stopping. I have quite a bit of work to do as I am pretty slow. I always think that as long as I'm moving it beats anyone sat at home on the couch watching TV! Injury is always a worry because it puts you out of action which is frustrating if you are trying to get fitter :)

I agree - moving is better than sitting down, however slowly. Just take your time, you'll be fine :)

I had no clue who Sarah Millican was so I YouTubed her. This is the first one that came up...

Oh, my goodness, I now understand the sticky bun reference! How funny is she! No wonder you chose her.
Ren

Cool post. I went from overweight couch potato to marathon runner and streak runner. It is good that you are starting slow and steady and patiently - well done and fingers crossed! I admire everybody who is putting an effort in trying to move more and run!

@dailyrunner it is not always easy to fit everything in but I think it will be worth it. I am not sure what a streak runner is but it sounds pretty impressive!

Thank you for commenting on my post I look forward to following you and learning more about running. I know I need to work on the way I run because I feel at time like I am running on the spot and not moving forward at all!

Focus on the fact what a gift it is that you CAN move. You will progress slowly, but you will, just strech your comfort zone a bit on every run (it is necessary to go a bit faster than the most comfortable and a bit longer that the most lazy part of you would like ;). BTW: streak runner is somebody who runes every day at least 1 mile (or more). I run at least 2 km every day since 30th of May 2016 (each and every day :). Here is my post on this topic. Onwards and upwards!

Your Post has been sent to the promoted section for free.
Thanks for participating in our giveaway !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62939.93
ETH 3116.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89