Ulog #19 | Bee Hive Cookies & I

in #ulog5 years ago (edited)

Since it's the spirit of Chinese New Year everywhere, I decided to try my hands out in making bee hive cookies. I used to help my mom when I was little in the kitchen preparing this but then, I was too small to appreciate the skills and teachings from her. All I remembered was the heat from the fire and the tedious standing for hours doing this chore. Though I did enjoyed the part of munching the cookies after taking it out from the chinese wok.

lrackzc528.jpg
Group #1 = Eggs + Sugar + Coconut Milk

nyxe396ve7.jpg
Group #2 = Group #1 + Rice Flour + Salt + All Purpose Flour

Once all is mixed together, next is the heat up the oil in the frying pan or some prefer to use the chinese wok. I put the mould into the oil mainly to test the heat but also the ensure that the mould is hot enough before I put into the batter.

8t85ia8i8f.jpg

The trick in dipping the mould into the batter is to ensure it doesn't cover the top of the mould if not it would be hard to remove it. Once in the oil, slowly shake it out from the mould without changing the shape. It took me at least 10 tries before I got it right on the heat of the fire. After that, it's close to perfection. I find that it's easier and faster if there is two person at work instead of one.

nmyvld7683.jpg
Close to perfection

nrfan0ex5q.jpg
Upclose & personal

1uvu8vxy75.jpg

I made a total 4 tins and it only cost me no more than RM10 (USD2.40). I might just have another round of it before the new year begins so that I could have some to give out to family members.


bad gif.gif

signature_2.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks for posting the recipe. That sounds delicious, and like a lot of work. I'm sure your family and friends enjoyed them!

This is like a must for CNY right? You make it sound like it is easy to make. You are fantastic.

I did a second round today using a smaller mould and it turned out fantastic if I may say so myself 😁
Got another 4 tins and all sealed up with a CNY sticker too.
Next weekend will do another 4 tins and I'm ready to go house visiting with my home made CNY cookies 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Yummssss they look good!!! I like this too! 💓

Not bad. How's the taste? I still recall the unforgettable cake you baked.

Aiyoh... That's like over 20 years ago

Lol.... yes. I'm old. Good memories.

wow you can make it!!! So geng! 👏👏👏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60626.97
ETH 3358.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45