ULOG 23 | I’m Currently Struggling With Writer’s Block

in #ulog6 years ago

IMG_20180916_085018.jpg

Sometimes I wonder if I can call myself a writer. Why? Because I struggle to write. Today is one of those days. I want to write a fiction, about five thousand words, for a contest that closes this weekend but I can’t. somehow, the story won’t leave my head. I can see the action as it unfolds but I can’t express it in words.

Why This Worries Me

I have been writing for a few years. Writing has been the source of my livelihood. Before I found Steemit, I used to fill writing orders. I would write for other people in exchange for money. I never liked that as I felt I could never been compensated enough. Thankfully, I found Steemit. Here, I own my content and still get ‘paid’.

However, getting ‘paid’ is kinda hard for me. I don’t know much people and even if I wanted to, I am not a social person. Most times, I prefer to stay on my own, watching a movie, reading a book or listening to music. I think I have more conversations with myself than with others. In trying to make up for my lack of social skills, I decided to focus on contests. The plan was simple: apply for contests. If you win, you get the prize money and post payout. If you don’t, at least you have the post payout. Once in a while @curie comes along with an upvote.

So basically, I am a contest person. Without contests, I have very little hope of getting funds and exposure on Steemit. Thankfully, I am being supported by @steemitcentral, @ogoowinner and occasional visits from @full-measure and @bleepcoin. I wish I could say it’s enough and I’m just being greedy for more but it isn’t.

The 5,000 Words Contest

Sometimes, at the end of the month, I make only $80 - $100. By the time I convert to Steem and then into my local currency (naira), I’m left with about $70 - $85. Sometimes @curie comes along and doubles the amount. But most times, that’s all I have.

I don’t like complaining, especially when it’s not something I ‘deserve’. I understand that no one owes me anything on steemit. The people with so much Steempower made some investment and they are free to use it as they like. Rather than complain, I look for ways to make ends meet.

That’s where this contest comes in. The first price is roughly one thousand five hundred USD. That’s a lot right? I think so too. That’s why I want to take a shot at it. I know they will have so many entries as it’s a very popular contest over here but I’m willing to try my luck

Does This Post Help?

Yes. Writing has a therapeutic effect on me. Not every time though. However, writing about this is actually helping to clear my thoughts. It also assures me that I haven t lost the writing touch. I guess that’s why I like the ulog initiative by @suppassinggoogle - it’s a platform to talk about the ‘U’ (YOU).

That’s a wrap. I need to hit the sack. I’ll try writing the story tomorrow morning

Thanks for reading

[caveat: I wrote this post yesterday night but fouls publish it due to bad internet connection from my end]

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the Steemit community! Thanks for the great post! @steemitcentral has upvoted your post. ALWAYS follow @Steemitcentral and use the steemitcentral tag to get some upvotes!
Also, kindly upvote @Steemitcentral posts to get future upvotes! Join @steemitcentral on discord. We want to hear from you.

IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg

I understand your frustrations, I get artist's block too. What do you usually do if you experience it? For me I just forget about art for awhile, listen to music and just do something else unrelated to arts. It will just come back to me naturally and will think of a concept after that lol. Good luck on it, and I hope you would win the contest. I know you are a good writer so you can do it! :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by IamTheGray from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hey friend 🙂 What do they mean those $ 70-85 per month in your country? Is it possible to live with them?

Yeah...

People live on less than $30/month

But then, you can imagine how impoverished their lives are.

For now, I'm only concerned with getting three square meals and paying for my internet subscription so I can manage to get by with $80. Besides, I stay in a 'village' where the cost of living is somewhat low

Sorry it took too long to reply. I didn't have electricity supply for the past three days.

About the contest, I managed to draft an entry. It isn't that good but it's better than doing nothing. Wanna see it?

Of course I wanna see it! What's your country? My wife is from Zimbabwe..

Sorry for the late reply

I'm feeling nervous now that you want to see it

Well, I asked first so....

https://okadabooks.com/book/read/22456/2

Please be harsh with your criticisms. I actually came up with the story and typed it in about four hours. I had two months to send in an entry so that's not an excuse.

I didn't give just friends to edit as I didn't want them to know I was participating. (it's a popular contest, and I'm scared I won't make it into the top 150 entries)

I'm a Nigerian, by the way. I haven't left my country so I don't know much about other African countries.

But I don't hear good things about Zimbabwe though. I hope she's fine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58092.36
ETH 2469.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38