A Trip To The North Devon Show - ULOG 003

in #ulog6 years ago


Snap Shots Of The North Devon Show


Yesterday I spent the day supporting my friend who was running a stall to promote her business, at The North Devon Show.

The show is an annual event to celebrate the area's agricultural roots and is run by The North Devon Agricultural Society which was established 1966.

north devon show.jpg

It is considered by many to be the biggest day in the calendar for North Devon.

The site covers 50 acres and the car park a further 43! Since it's in a very rural location most people choose to drive. There is public transport available but it would be a bit of a hassle to use and take a good amount of time.

north devon show car park.jpg

Whilst there was a lull in business I took the opportunity to have a bit of a look around.

There is plenty for adults and children alike. The top photograph, for example, shows the Happy Circus tent in which were four performances over the course of the day.

Below is a photograph of a traditional Punch and Judy Show showing just a very small portion of the audience.

punch and judy.jpg

A host of livestock classes and competitions occupied the arenas throughout the day with Alpacas, Cattle, Horses, Sheep, Show Jumping and an Open Dog Show.

north devon show cows.jpg

There were attractions, displays, demonstrations and trade stands to suit every taste. The Bideford Youth Pipe Band was probably my favourite, along with the Food Hall. 😁

bideford youth pipe band.jpg

The weather was perfect. Not too hot and certainly not wet or cold and it was interesting to experience.

Would I go again? Perhaps. But only if my friend needed the support! 😁

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

More Posts From The North Devon Show:

Vintage Cars On Display

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

Love your pictures of this year's North Devon Show, @gillianpearce. I've loved agricultural shows from when I was quite little but hardly go now. Were there fruit and veggie displays too?

We celebrated Emancipation Day as a public holiday yesterday and our Denbigh Agricultural Show is an annual event here in Jamaica. Thanks so much. Brought back great memories. ;)

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Were there fruit and veggie displays too?

There weren't surprisingly although I'm not sure this much of a good farming area.

Brought back great memories

That's always good to hear @angelacs. 😁

During the summer here there are always plenty of fairs, shows and festivals to go to. I wonder if the vendors make much money? I imagine it varies from one place to the next. I know I end up mostly at the food vendors, especially if they're selling something I won't have access to until the following year.

Glad the weather held and that it was reasonably entertaining as you wandered around. We have a Lamb & Wool Fair that takes place in a neighboring town where they've held dog trials (sheep driving) as often as they can get property owners to commit. Need a lot of open ground to do it on.

Now, is this the main show for your area, or are there other annual events that bring out the crowds?

And when you say traditional Punch and Judy, does that mean a puppeteer can use the dolls that look like them and actually call them that, or is this the actual performer? They've been around for as long as I can remember, so I would think the original performer would either be long in the tooth, or now passed on.

This show was not in my area @glenalbrethsen. I am staying in North Devon at the moment and it is their show. I'm not sure if there's an agricultural show where I live. I'e not paid attention.

It's the puppets that are Punch and Judy. There's usually a policeman and a dog too if I remember rightly. I imagine anyone could buy the puppets and set themselves up with a Punch and Judy Show.

They had them on all the beaches in summer when I was growing up. They maybe still do in the more traditional seaside resorts. 😊

Well, interesting. Anymore these days, you have copyright or trademark or whatever governs performances that prevent you from using characters in anyway. Disney is particularly harsh when it comes to those things. It would get expensive to constantly be buying the rights to things, I would think.

At any rate, it's nice to know that there's at least one well known act that doesn't require it.

Okay, so there may or may not be in your area. We live close to the border of two counties, so there's both of their fairs. Then there's no less than five festivals or fairs that towns put on within 20 miles of where we're at. And there's the State fair, which is also within that range, that's coming up.

We have a Scandinavian festival we go to almost every year that's a little farther away, but I grew up in the town, so it has special memories for me. It changes very little, but there's always good food to eat. The trick is to get there before the long lines begin to form.

At any rate, it's nice to know that there's at least one well known act that doesn't require it.

I don't know if it does or it doesn't @glenalbrethsen. Maybe Punch and Judy puppeteers have a secret circle like the Magic circle for magicians. Well not secret but you know what I mean. 😊

Sounds like you're never short of a festival to go to then!

Not during the summer months we're not. We don't even regularly make it to them all. When I had the newspaper, though, I was always at the two town festivals, and the state fair, since we traded tickets for advertising.

Still haven't really gone to either county fair, nor to the strawberry festival, which is the first of the bunch usually. My wife loves strawberries, but for some reason, she's never been inclined. Go figure. :)

Do you miss going @glenalbrethsen or are you not really bothered? 😊

I miss the food, but obviously not enough to get me there by myself. The best food I've had is at the Scandinavian Festival, which is next weekend, and I will go to that one by myself if I have to. I've dragged others with me in the past but while we all end up having a good time, it's just not worth all the grousing beforehand.

Looks like the temperatures are going to be in the mid-80s or so, so it should be okay. Unfortunately, we're going to be back into the 90-degree weather before that, though. Groovy. :)

Ah well. I hope you can get someone to joyfully come with you @glenalbrethsen and, if not, that you can enjoy it by yourself. 😁

The temperatures here have been much cooler than in Brighton, which is often the way of it. The weather tends to be better in the East of the country.

Looks like it's been brilliant sunshine while I've been away. Let's see how it is when I return tomorrow.

A very colourful day out by the looks of the photos.

Would I go again? Perhaps. But only if my friend needed the support! 😁

I take it you were not super impressed?😁

Would I go again? Perhaps. But only if my friend needed the support!

I was being diplomatic @molometer. Country and farming life isn't really my thing. 😁.

Great brightly striped red and yellow tent. It really calls out festival. The brown hill flanked by green trees and topped with blue sky reminds me of here in northern California in the summer.

It certainly is a lot greener here than it is at home @steven-patrick. it will be interesting to see if it has rained since I've been away. it has rained here. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55