Ulog Diary #42 : A Sunday Market and Making the Most Out of Today

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

20180729_195631_0001.png

early morning at the Legazpi Sunday market

If there is one thing I love about weekends (Sundays especially) aside from taking a rest is being able to have a whole day of spending it with my family (one day only as my partner has work every Saturdays). But that one day of every week, my partner always make sure that me and my daughter (along with the rest of us in the house) gets a well deserved Sunday.

Early morning of today, despite the gloomy sky and the threatening rain, we decided to try the Legazpi Sunday market in Makati. Makati may be a notorious place for traffic during weekdays (and even Saturdays) but if you visit the area on a Sunday, you'd be surprised as to how few vehicles pass by the area and how you can manage to reach a destination in less than an hour than you usually do on the weekdays.

It was a first time for us all to visit the area and when we arrived there, our anticipation to have a breakfast only heightened when we saw the area. There were way too much food and activity going on that it made us more hungrier in just a matter of minutes.

Here are a few snaps that might tell you an idea why:

The place....

IMG-20180729-WA0045.jpg

IMG-20180729-WA0018.jpg

IMG-20180729-WA0044.jpg

IMG-20180729-WA0042.jpg

IMG-20180729-WA0017.jpg

IMG-20180729-WA0031.jpg

IMG-20180729-WA0063.jpg

IMG-20180729-WA0059.jpg

Know what's the sad news about having too much food options? Yep. It makes one unable to decide what to eat. Or what to try first for that matter. What we did is that we tried various food sold in there. My partner bought some Indonesian cuisine while I received my Moroccan food. Tita on the other hand settled to a more convenient and safe one: sausage. We also added an order from a Chinese food stall.

So here are what we ordered:

Our breakfast...

IMG-20180729-WA0046.jpg
some Indonesian cuisine

IMG-20180729-WA0049.jpg
another Indonesian food

IMG-20180729-WA0051.jpg
Moroccan ratatouille vegan

IMG-20180729-WA0047.jpg
Chinese dumplings

IMG-20180729-WA0050.jpg
German sausage

IMG-20180729-WA0054.jpg
Pita bread

Of all the food we bought, I especially loved the Chinese dumplings :) I recommend it to anyone who would visit the market soon. Of course, we were not able to finish up all of the food (despite our daughter's appetite.lol) so we ventured again and looked around for other stuffs being sold and some possible dessert (even the not-so-dessert ones).

IMG-20180729-WA0038.jpg

IMG-20180729-WA0037.jpg

IMG-20180729-WA0036.jpg

IMG-20180729-WA0035.jpg

We found some interesting and very cute handcrafts made by Mayown. What caught my attention mainly were the bright colors of the crocheted products and the cute animal designs. But oh boy were the price steep! I think their lowest price was around Php 1,000. We asked one of the saleslady and she said for one item only, it takes them 1.5-2 days to finish. No wonder they are priced at that. Had they were not that expensive (for me at least), I would have bought one each for me and my daughter.

IMG-20180729-WA0058.jpg

I was also happy to find a stall selling fresh milks. I initially intended to buy Cow's milk but the vendor told me that their best seller is the Carabao's milk so l bought a bottle of it to try. I was too full to drink it though so I just brought it home.

IMG-20180729-WA0069.jpg

The highlight however of our Sunday market is this Picolé ice pops. A few years back, they had their stall at the SM Mall of Asia where we buy amazing and drooling-able avocado and ube ice pops. Their stall closed however a few months after we discovered their ice pops and I then never got the chance to have another bite of their product. Until today. I was so happy to see their stall there that no matter how full I was, I squeezed in an avocado ice pop :)

Today, my heart got a lot fuller and satisfied than my belly because I was with two of my most favorite people in the world :)

Each day we receive is a brand new day and gift we should all appreciate and live. And I mean live. We have the freedom to do what we think is best for us each day but I hope that we learn how to value it the way it should be valued. Each day will never be the same as the one before it or the next ones that will come. Let's make it count❤.


If this post interests you, you can check out the ulog post of @surpassinggoogle in here.

Have you casted your witness votes already? Please support @surpassinggoogle by visiting here and typing in "steemgigs" into the first search box. If you also want him to make the witness voting decisions on your behalf, that can be done by visiting here again and typing "surpassinggoogle" on the second box for proxy.

Thank you for dropping by. ❤

All the best! {always}
~filnette 🍀

DQmTDHgUUMTHMjjFvY7y6M7FhAdsjdJTsmUmuz4Ps81pAWG.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for dropping by @fazlul. Too bad though I already registered with byteball but thanks for this :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome day sis.. it made me jealous, i was at home all day working while my husband was at the province.

Those crochet items are indeed expensive. I wonder how many pieces are they able to sell in a day.

Posted using Partiko Android

Aaww. At least you got paid for yesterday's work sis :)

Yes indeed sis. We even inquired if they would be willing to let us sell their items and they said they could do consignment. They have a lot of physical shops though too and with a price as high as that, I doubt we would be able to sell much.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes right sis..its too pricey..

Posted using Partiko Android

Very nice post @filnette!
And what an appetite!
Thank you for sharing your beautiful day with us :)

Hi there @fotostef! Thanks for dropping by. Hahaha. Hate to agree about the what an appetite. Tita (my bestfriend's mom) always wondered where me and my partner squeeze all the food we eat. Hope you had a wonderful Sunday yourself :)

Posted using Partiko Android

ang sa sarap ng mga pagakain.. gusto ko yung relyeno na bangus

Hihi. Tempting nga ang bangus. Hindi kami nakabili nyan sa sobrang dami ng options. Sometime soon nalang ulit pag nakabalik :)

Posted using Partiko Android

paborito ko kasi yan.. tsaka yung pusit na may mga lamang vegies sa loob.. masarap din siya sobra...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57249.71
ETH 3092.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41