Ulog Diary #12: Spending the Weekend on Karaoke..A Filipino Culture

in #ulog6 years ago

IMG-20180526-WA0002.jpg
today's songlist


We Filipinos have always been fond of singing and doing karaoke. It is no wonder almost all Filipinos can really sing. Wherever you may be here in our country, there are a lot of singing competitions being held. Even while Filipinos get to live abroad, singing on karaoke still gets to be a part of gatherings. I remember we once had a foreign visitor in our office and he mentioned and kinda asked why is it that Filipinos are good in singing. I smiled and told him it is because of our love for music and karaoke and how easy it is to rent one and sing your heart out. We get a lot of practice that's why. He laughed when I told him that and he finally understood.

IMG-20180526-WA0000.jpg
my turn on the microphone

Today's activity I think was influenced by watching Tawag ng Tanghalan (A Theater's Call) at the It's Showtime, a noon-time show on local television. We at home (my bestfriend, his mother and his tita) are fond of this competition. Probably because of our love for music. So after watching the competition, we decided to have one for ourselves and set-up the videoke.lol

I initially planned to ask my bestfriend to take a video of me singing so I can share it here in my #ulog story but I think I got carried away with singing that I only remembered it when we finally decided to stop and have dinner :) Anyway, we all had a great time today singing and recalling songs we haven't sung for a while ; songs we used to sing when we were in college and even years before that. Oh those were fun times!

I'm glad that I have a family and friends that share this same passion with me. It does not only allow fun moments with them but it also allows us to carry on this Filipino culture that we hope to pass on to the next generation. Well if my 10-month old daughter's shouts while we were singing today were any indication, then I'm pretty confident about this one.


If this post interests you, you can check out the ulog post of @surpassinggoogle in here.

Have you casted your witness votes already? Please support @surpassinggoogle by visiting here and typing in "steemgigs" into the first search box. If you also want him to make the witness voting decisions on your behalf, that can be done by visiting here again and typing "surpassinggoogle" on the second box for proxy.

A huge shoutout to @phantum04 for my wonderful ulog gif below. You can get yours too by checking out this post.

Thank you for dropping by. ❤

All the best! {always}
~filnette 🍀

DQmTDHgUUMTHMjjFvY7y6M7FhAdsjdJTsmUmuz4Ps81pAWG.gif

Sort:  

Hi @filnette,

Thank you for this blog of yours which shows Filipinos love for music and up to this day, be it a fiesta or any celebration, karaoke will always find its place.

With that, we're grateful we have chosen this blog to be featured and upvoted by @onerace to empower impactful Philippines' Culture and Tradition blogs.

See link:
https://steemit.com/onerace/@onerace/onerace-update-may-25-may-26-2018-empowering-filipino-culture-and-tradition

Wow! Thank you so much @onerace. I am honored to be noticed by you. GOD BLESS.

Yes indeed.

Karaoke will always find it's place.

singing is one of my passion.. I am musically inclined not by profession.. any one can sing and its for free.. you can sing wiling taking a bath or while held up in a long traffic.. singing is a medicine that can
cure boredom..

I totally agree! I don't think I have ever lived a day in my life without singing.lol. It's very therapeutic for me. I also sing wherever and whenever. But long drives and locking myself in my room are my best times to sing. Having videoke with friends is not included yet though because it's of a higher rank I guess.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43