Ulog No. 58: "My Leche Flan: An Epic Fail"

in #ulog5 years ago

I decided to make Leche Flan so I could bring a dessert for our dinner at my Auntie's house tonight. Whilst I was making it, I received a phone call from my other Auntie who asked me to take her to Centrelink today. I said I was sorry I could not take her, and that she caught me at a bad time. I was in the middle of cooking for tonight's dinner. I intend to bring Leche Flan, Tocino, Special Fried Rice and the Coconut dish with Pumpkin, Green beans and Prawns.

By the way, Leche Flan is the Filipino version of caramel custard or crème caramel. It is one of the most famous and favourite desserts which Filipinos enjoy not only on Christmas and other important occasions but anytime throughout the year.

I have made Leche Flan before and it always turns out great. It's easy to prepare and cook. Sometimes I steam it, sometimes I bake it in the oven. This time, I decided to bake it.

How I Baked My Leche Flan:


Ingredients:
8 whole eggs
1 can condensed milk (375 g)
1 can evaporated milk (375 ml)
2 tsp vanilla extract

Prepare all the ingredients. ======>

For caramel:
1 cup raw sugar
1/2 cup water


1. Put 1 cup of sugar into a pan and add water. Bring to boil until caramelised. Remove from heat and pour into a shallow baking pan. Set aside.

Meanwhile, preheat oven to 150o Celsius.

2. Break the eggs and beat in a mixing bowl. Add condensed milk, evaporated milk and vanilla extract.

3. Beat all the ingredients with a hand-held mixer until mixture is smooth and well-combined.

4. Pour the mixture into the prepared baking pans.

5. Place the pans in the preheated oven and bake for 1 hour.

Meanwhile, I marinated 1 kilo of pork with Tocino instant mix and then refrigerated it. I will have to cook it later. Then, I made myself busy looking for tablets on eBay (I know, I said I am not going to buy tablets from eBay anymore), then, at 30-minute mark, the leche flan was starting to smell really good from the oven. "Hmmm... I can't wait for it to be cooked," I thought to myself. At 40-minute mark, I went back to the kitchen to check on my leche flan.


6. I removed the leche flan from the oven without waiting for 1 hour to finish. Because the leche flan was already cooked. As a matter of fact, it was OVERCOOKED. Because I failed to remember to cover the baking pans with aluminium foil before placing them in the oven. I guess I was distracted, or there's just too many things going on in my mind. Excuses, excuses, excuses!!!! I was very disappointed with myself.

MY LECHE FLAN IS AN EPIC FAIL! WHAT A DISASTER!


Of course, I can't bring it to my Auntie's house. I will buy frozen desserts from the shop for desserts instead. Ice cream and cheesecake will be perfect in this 35oC weather.

Oh well, I'll just have to try again and next time it will be a success! I will even post it on Steemit.

Thank you for reading! If you have any feedback, please leave a reply in the comment section below. Thank you and bye for now!

rsz_transparent.png

My recommended witnesses:

@c0ff33a, @enginewitty, @pharesim, @curie, @cloh76.witness, @jackmiller, @steemgigs, @yabapmatt, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @blocktrades, @qurator, @hr1, @aggroed, @utopian-io, @ocd-witness, @themarkymark, @arcange, @scottcbusiness, @yehey, @good-karma, @steemitboard, @ausbitbank.

You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

@steembulls
dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif

@dynamicgreentk, @dynamicsteemians
rsz_flaminghelpers-7.jpg

@flaminghelpers
itestify1.jpg
@itestify

The photos are my own unless otherwise stated. The discord banners are provided by @baa.steemit and @steembulls, #ulogger GIF by @phantum04 and footer image by @bearone of @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

That is the reason I let the answering machine get the phone when I am in the middle of baking! Hopefully, the other dishes you prepared turned out fantastic.

Posted using Partiko Android

I thought the Auntie that phoned me wanted to talk to me about dinner, if everything was under control. It turned out it was about something else. Haha! She phoned me at that time when I was pouring in the mixture into the baking pans. Haha!

As for the other dishes, they turned out all right. Not too bad. Everybody seemed to like it. :-)

I'm glad the other dishes turned out all right. Remember sharing a meal with family or freinds always makes the food taste better.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's right. Everyone had a lovely time and after dinner we sang karaoke, which was even more fun!

Vuelve a intentarlo, el que insiste vence asi que no te desanimes.....
Dios te bendiga Jesucristo vivee y te amaaaa

Muchas Gracias por tu comentario. Sí, no me desanimaré. Amo a Jesucristo. El es mi Dios.

That's alright sis. I know how you feel when I cook, because that often happens to me hehe. Were you still able to eat it, though?

The texture is like omelette. I will eat it for sure. I don't want to waste it. I just can't share it with everybody else, it's too embarrassing. What a failure!

"The glory in life is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall."

So, I will just learn from this mistake, and next time, I will not lose concentration. Haha!!!

Haha... we can submit your experience to teardrops wahaha... that's how my first try turned out, sis. How is it gonna be real smooth, and not like a texture of cheese? Haha..

If only @teardrops will read this post. 😭

@evlachsblog, It happens but good to see that you came up with your Failed Dish so for sure you are sportive. Keep enjoying and stay blessed. 🙂

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Thank you, @chireerocks. I'm glad you appreciated my post. Be blessed as well, my friend.

Welcome and thank you so much. Have a great time ahead. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63202.55
ETH 3085.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85