Ulog 42: The Poverty Mindset

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Elizabeth Lawrence (5).jpgSource edited in Canva by yours truly

Happy Hump-Day Steemians!

This morning I had a text message stating that this person wanted to “stop living like a peasant.” After giggling my behind off over their colourful choice of wording, it set me to thinking about how I live too.

This person quickly sent me another text to say this was nothing to do with money, how much they did or didn’t have, but about the way they presented themselves to the world- ultimately coloured by what they felt they were worth.

Now, this resonates. I work 9 – 5, and I very much count my job as my ‘day-job’… it’s fine- it can be great, it can be bad, mostly it's somewhere in the middle... but it’s not my passion. I see this as selling my life in hour-sized parcels.

You shouldn't be able to put a price high enough on every precious moment of your life. And yet, this is what I do - this is what I believe I’m worth.

And this is at the root of my version of the “peasant mindset”… it’s actually not about money. It’s about worth – my perception of what I’m worth. I realise that I, too, would like to make a change.

I’m not entirely sure what this change is going to look like in by real life- but I do know it’s not about money – it’s about spending my life beautifully. This has been a slow lesson, but it is one that began during the last two weeks I spent nursing my mum. Every hour, every minute that she had in the two weeks she had between the moment they told her the news, and her losing her life- every single moment was precious.

Why would I trade my precious moments for something that doesn’t fill me with the maximum possible joy?
Something to thing about.

How can I maximise every moment of joy and escape the poverty mindset? Watch this space!

Eveningart x

EVENINGART.gif

Sort:  

I'm no peasant... I eat cake!

But seriously, I can understand where your friend is coming from. Especially in a creative industry, we crave recognition from others as a stand in for 'worth'. Sometimes it can be hard to step back and realise how lucky we are to be able to do what we enjoy doing as 'work'.

In the other facets of life, it is also too easy to see what is not right or what bothers is, and to be blind to the things which are really amazing in our lives that we take for granted...

You are so right in that we see the negative way sooner than we see the positive... humans are wired so strangely!!

I like cake too. And I eat lots of it. Does that mean I'm not a peasant??

I think that's how it works! If you eat cake you move up in class, eat bread and down you go!

oh my gosh - i had to stop reading JUST to come down here and tell you how hard i was giggling at "living like a peasant" LOLOLOL

ok - back to reading!

oh gosh yes yes yessssssssssss Evie!!!! not just that - but valuing your worth in your art too!

not 1.99

2.99 i say!!!!!!!!! hahahahahaha

but listen to me ... i struggle with the same thing my dear. you know this. but we have one another!

2.99!
2.99!
2.99!

hehehehe

Ahahaha- I know, right... (it was Boogie Druid too! Somehow that makes it funnier!)

Hahaha - 2.99? Nope nope nope... I want them to sell, not just sit there ;)

You're right though, thank goodness we have each other or I think I'd implode. E x

Awww ❤️ I feel you there @eveningart

Every hour, every minute that she had in the two weeks she had between the moment they told her the news, and her losing her life- every single moment was precious.

No money is greater than any precious moments especially this. These moments are priceless!! I think appreciating life everyday is where we should start doing so we can see life in a more beautiful perspective.

Posted using Partiko iOS

And im right with you there my gorgeous WW sis- let's get to appreciating every single day. Gratitude has a lot to do with it I think. I might start adding a gratiude at the end of each post... that would make an amazing collection at the end if a year! E x

Thats true its not about money its about passion. You're day job could be your passion and while it may seem like a job to others to you you're having fun. Not everyone finds that kind of satisfaction or they not brave enough to take the risk to live it, which in my mind means it can't be your passion and you didn't want it badly enough.

I took a risk and quit my job to persue a passion project I'm by no means rich but im not poor and one thing im not is miserable or regret my choice! Everyday i get one day closer to my goals and have fun doing it

Oh yes- that's definitely true- your day job can be your passion, and for those people this is true for- what a happy happy thing! You're right- when you find your passion - you have to be brave and chase it. You're my hero- good for you and I am so glad that you're having fun moving towards your goal every day- brilliant! And that brave leap meant you were pointing in the right direction for that to happen...

Thank you for popping in! E x

Congratulations @eveningart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36