Ulog 15: On Rebelling

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Elizabeth Lawrence (3).jpg

I am in a rebellious mood. This morning, I left my bed super-early so that I had time to get to my yoga class before work. This is week 7 of yoga and is the last week before she breaks for the summer.

So I got up and out of bed on auto-pilot, stumbled my way through an instant coffee and didn't tase my breakfast (did I mention that I'm not an early-morning person?!) I even got as far as pulling on my yoga gear, leaving the house, getting in the car and setting off in the direction of the studios.

And that was when I started to wake up properly... my conversation went something along the lines of...

"I don't feel like going to yoga."
"Tough, too late, your already on your way. And anyway, you know this is just you doing your usual rebellion against exercise, cheer up and get your arse in there."
"But I really don't want to go"
"I don't care. You're going whether you like it or not."
"But whhhhhhyyyyyyy????!"



As images started running through my mind of the relaxing studios, the teacher's soothing voice, the smell of incense and the smug feeling I always get when I manage a smooth "downwards-dog" - a really bad mood started forming. If I hadn't have been driving, I would have stamped my foot.

Crap. Now what was I going to do?

I heaved a miserable sigh as I realised that I was going to have to endure yoga. Boo.

But why? No one else cared if I went or not. The class was pre-paid so the teacher wasn't going to miss out from my rebellion. I could easily send her a message to apologise (though in true British style, I would make up an excuse as to why I wasn't going... it isn't the done thing just to tell her I wasn't feeling like it.

Decision made and rebellion underway, a bubble of excitement rose in my stomach. No I was fully awake and happy - I didn't have to be at work for an hour and a half. I headed into the village nearest to my offices and parked up in one of the more remote spaces attached to a little artisan shopping complex. Praying that there weren't any security cameras, I sneakily changed out of my yoga clothes and back into my jeans (yup - I work in a jeans-allowed kind of office!)

Then I whipped out my phone and checked around for a caffe keen enough to open that early, Yay- there was one open in 20 minutes time- and conveniently enough it was a 20 minutes walk away.

I arrived just as the coffee machine reached temperature. It's a quirky little place, based on an industrial estate - a working bakery with a caffe attached.

I opt to sit outside at watch the workers as they arrive and open up their units, whilst sipping my coffee. Oh... and I should really mention that as I didn't taste my first breakfast, I ordered a second one. Yum. Avocado and eggs and cucumber pickle on toast. Hello!

That didn't arrive until 8.30 when the kitchens opened though, so I thought- hey- I'll open my notebook and chat with you guys whilst is sit and sip my coffee and wait.

So, this is what rebellion tastes like, and I love it.

Happy hump day my friends... gotta go, I've got a second breakfast to decimate enjoy.

Have a wonderful day,
Eveningart

p.s. If you find yourself skipping out on yoga and your'e looking for a lovely caffe in Dartington - do check out The Almond Thief - great tunes, lovely vibe, gorgeous coffee and heavenly food!

EVENINGART.gif


Sources: all photos are my own. Header edited by yours truly using Canva.

Sort:  

Hmmmm.. i could smell.that coffee from here. And i envy your breakfast too. I think i am just hungry now that I have seen it all.. gosh!!

Ooh I wont deny it- it was delicious!! :) I'm going to have to go back there again sometime and do it all again soon!!

E x

Now that you have mentioned it, ill book myself with the hubs an unlimited buffet breakfast hahaha... i miss it!

Oooh yum! Yes, do it, there's nothing better that a treat at breakfast time with your beloved :)

Oh yes, i miss that kind of treat. I have been busy attending to the needs of my baby that I feel guilty to leave them behind. In the end, I forgot my ME TIME needs.. lols.. but soon we will..

As adults we can rebel and I think we should! I hate doing something I 'Ought to do'. If you feel that you are obliged to do it perhaps you are not in the mood to enjoy it.

I guess you could say that we have to stick at stuff and not give in because we are not in the mood - however are you going to give it your all when you get there?

However you gave your all to your second brekky and it made you happy. I think that counts as 'living in the moment'!

Yay - rebellion - REBELLION! (ahem... too much coffee!) I know, and usually I'm pretty sensible, but when your whole body and mind is going NOOOO I think it's time to listen ;) And you're right, I threw my heart and soul into that second breakfast. It's a hard life- but someone has to do it :) :)
E x

That coffee looks amazing - even though I usually have mine black! And that breakfast - I would definitely skip yoga for that!
I'm obsessed with climbing, and I find that doing an exercise you're passionate about is the best way to keep you at it. Also I've got lots of friends who are equally obsessed so it's like a social occasion too :)

Ooh it was good! (I may have had 2 of them ;) )
I have really enjoyed the 6 weeks prior to this- but this morning, I didn't need soothing exercise- if anything, I needed something high energy and a bit... you know... punchy...maybe something a bit more like zumba to wake me up... so I went for competitive breakfast eating instead ;)
E x

Haha - yes sometimes your body just lets you know what it really needs :)

haha love the sponataneity. I used to work out at a gym that was right next door to a Chinese food restaurant. Every time as I walked from my car to the gym there was the last minute struggle of "should I go work out or screw-it I'm gonna go eat Chinese food." Quite a few times Chinese food won out....

Oh man- that must have been like a special kind of torture having them right next to each other :) I know which one would have won more often with me!
Thanks for stopping by. E x

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

Looks tasteful @eveningart

Good food, good mood.
Have a great day.

It was really delicious - and you're right- I like that saying :)
You have a lovely day too x

I think you made good choices! Hahahaha...

what a coppout! no self discipline? bad bad bad..but every single one of us can relate because we want to do the exact same thing! lol.
Howdy from Texas again @eveningart! I really think that breakfast was worth it and you did deserve it since you didn't taste the first one. lol. too funny. great post!

Okay, first of all, I totally get the rebel thing. I've been a rebel since day one, and that feeling of freedom, of getting to do whatever you want to do and let serendipity guide you is THE BEST!

Also, I'm a yoga teacher. Sometimes we don't really want to go teach class, but usually feel better about it once we're actually there and teaching. But as a yoga teacher, I think that's a great practice to listen to your body. Go to your mat as often as you can, but if you're hating it, it's probably better to treat yourself to a gloriously liberated breakfast instead. ;)

Congratulations @eveningart! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70455.47
ETH 3561.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71