#ULOG No. 6 - A Crafter’s Hand

in #ulog6 years ago

4FEA4D93-D439-4321-946F-DB8ED083A2A4.jpeg

I never really liked the way my hands looked. They are manly and my fingers are so long and thick. When you look at my hands against my body they look as if they belong to someone else. However, I do like what my hands are capable of...crafting. I love to make things with my hands whether it be crocheting or making art with my children.

A thought came to me yesterday...

If I lose function in my hand I wouldn’t be able to craft. 😧

Instead of thinking about not being able to write, or using my hand to eat and perform necessary daily functions, this was my first thought. I can’t imagine not having the ability to make beautiful things with my hands.

A59EB774-42E3-4962-B3EE-449D6EA698B6.jpeg

2A4BEAA9-6202-4747-A677-41FE042B5E49.gif

It wouldn’t be fair if I asked you not to laugh at the gif above. That person falling to doom is me. My brother happily filmed it and made this special replay gif just for him to laugh at over and over again me. 🙄 We were at an outside event that had lots of inflatable activities to do. I attempted this stunt two years ago just a few months after giving birth to my fourth child. My excuse defense is that my balance was still off as I was in recovery.

I admit it is pretty funny to watch but the landing sure wasn’t. My whole body landed on top of my right hand which was bent in towards my wrist. As soon as I fumbled to my feet I felt this excruciating pain and my hand and wrist were throbbing. I knew I had damaged something but I shook off the pain and went on with my life. Every few months the pain resurfaces when I do certain activities with my hand.

CFBED288-A1D2-4A33-B97E-D96D4DF2D7F1.jpeg

62E36C4B-DCA1-418C-9F37-05324C5D1CC5.jpeg

As I was working on crocheting my mother’s fingerless mitts (can you see the sparkles in the yarn?), I really start noticing the pain. Weirdly I crochet with my left hand which is the less dominant one. However I still need both hands when performing this type of craft. The pain starts in my wrist and then shoots all the way down to the palm of my hand. It’s hard to grip things and open them and I have to use less force in order to lessen the pain.

I will be scheduling an appointment soon to get some X-rays done to see what’s going on. I’m going to take my time though because I am afraid to find out the results. Sometimes not knowing is better (I say that until the pain strikes). 😏

F4F9937C-E72B-4637-B231-90235DC4B4E4.jpeg

So I may not like the way my hands look but they are crafters hands. I need them to be at their best so that I can continue to do what I love to do...make things.

If you are a crafter please take care of your hands ~

All photos are my own.

Thanks for the Visit ~ ❤️

9857245E-4AD9-4B29-8B75-7E60098C91BD.png

F3027244-0B1D-408D-AED1-657B15E67E0D.png

2AD2DF16-A855-4E8F-849F-AC4E1C759CAD.png

8BAAE613-5DAE-4D06-81BC-1D4D042CF6DA.gif

3ABFB6B9-C625-4DD3-848A-6A5E788BB3AA.png

D74216FC-504A-4DF5-BD00-E0E05EBEB717.png

B397566E-2439-4214-90B9-79E28BA30D25.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

E074CFDD-A2D9-46F0-9A46-1E6C42A08DDB.jpeg

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

E8BD8D29-F7AC-4E6C-B93E-E9D18058F150.gif

C2E37979-7545-4AAF-B61F-F27E75482934.jpeg

Logo/Banner created by @rigaronib!

Sort:  

You have beautiful hand! Not manly at all!!!! They are gifted, artists hands. I have always felt the same about my hands...but you are right, we are so blessed to have them. Just look what we create day after day :) What a beautiful heartfelt post @crosheille! Love it!

You are so sweet! Thank you for your kind words. We are truly blessed to have them :)

Haha... I think I have the exact opposite problem! I have long slender fingers, which are great for helping me get around the violin, but you could quite easily mistake them for a girl's hands.... Sigh, that said, I wouldn't swap my hands, they are also an integral part of my craft!

Haa that’s so funny. But I love how you said you wouldn’t swap them because they are an integral part of your craft. Thanks for sharing that :)

IMG_20181231_105942.jpg

You definitely have great hands for the violin! 😉 Thanks for sharing.

You have beautiful hands!
I have to say, I DID laugh at the gif... How nice of your brother to capture that moment in time for you! ;D

Aww thank you, I just never thought so. Lol thanks for being honest, I’m sure everyone that sees it does...it’s hard not to laugh. 😅 Yes wasn’t that so nice of him. 😏😂

He sounds like a keeper, LOL!

I wish you well on that hand, plus the fact your brother filmed it so you have that to keep adding to the agony. Hopefully it is nothing to major and it might be just some prolonged rest might heal it.

Thank you so much. I’m hoping that it will calm down after resting. I tried a new workout and I think that’s what really triggered the pain this time.

Oh, darling! You really don't have to feel ashamed with your hands! In my opinion, they are gorgeous.
Maybe they don't look the best for you but they are capable of doing something rare, something that other people wish to be able to do. And more than that, your hands have a lot of stories about the things they created. So when someone looks weird on your hands, just show them what they are capable to do! And then they will search for your attention.
But seriously now, there is nothing wrong with them and I find them normal. :)

You are so kind. I really appreciate your sweet remarks and encouragement. I do love what they can do and that’s all that matters. Thanks so much ~ 😊

nothing manly about your hands at all, and good luck with the Drs check hopefully it is somehting simple and easily remedied

Thank you so much I really appreciate that. I am hoping so too. It’s so annoying not being able to use my full strength.

I had carpel tunnel a few years back really slowed me down but a simple procedure and it was as good as new so I hope yours is easily treated

I had signs of early carpel tunnel but it slowly went away. I’m glad you got yours corrected :)

Thanks I hope so too!

I hoped mine would go away and tried ot ignore it for the longest while but finally had to go for the surgery

Yes that’s exactly what I was doing. Now it’s very noticeable where I have to get it looked at.

Well sending you positive thoughts and energy that it can be treated and you can continue with your crafting with ease

I greatly appreciate it :)

Firstly: your hands are beautiful. I love the mixture of fragile and tough your hands show.
Secondly: I am so sorry you hurt your hand. This could have been me... argh I cross my fingers and pray that nothing serious is damaged as the idea of loosing function in one hand is a nightmare. But I am hopeful as serious damaged would perhaps make even more problems (and perhaps with visible signs like swelling or hardening etc.)

Thank you so much sweet friend. I have always seen them as rough and manly. That’s why I never bother to get my nails done lol. Yes the thought of losing full function in my hand is terrifying. I’m hoping the problem can be fixed with some natural remedies. I don’t see any swelling just feel the pain. 😣

Hope your hand we be okay and have many more years of crafting! The fingerless mitts look great and so do your hands! I feel one day I will wear my hands/arms out, but it's better to see what they can do then to waste time not trying!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much! I hope I have many more years of crafting ahead of me too! I totally agree, let’s spend the time that we have to craft and build as much as we can...we’re too young to waste time ;)

I think your hands look perfect! I don't see anything wrong with them. It might be because my own mother's and my hands also look similar, since we are both also very crafty.
Maybe look into taking turmeric for joint support!!

Thank you! ☺️

I was going to look into some natural home remedies to see if that would ease the pain and slowly reverse this. I have turmeric on hand!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 355 (12/29/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46