Ulog #11 - How I Fight a Summer Cold

in #ulog5 years ago

A summer cold is never welcome and they can be really nasty and want to spend the summer with you. Spending the day feeling tired and miserable with a box of tissues in my lap is NOT what I have in mind for our very short spring season. I want to be out and about, planting things, taking flower pictures and enjoying long walks.

So what do I do about a Summer Cold that is trying to take up residency with me? I make a big batch of homemade (mostly) chicken noodle soup. Sometimes I make bone broth and homemade noodles but I really wanted to get this batch made, so I started out with organic chicken broth and Reames frozen egg noodles.

I started the chicken broth (3 of the above containers) and diced onion, celery, and carrots - about a cup of each - cooking in a large pot. I also added some fresh chopped garlic. A friend suggested adding some ginger for even more medicinal properties, but I didn't have any on hand. I then added 6 large boneless, skinless chicken thighs.

I let this simmer for about an hour, then pull all the chicken thighs out of the pot and shred them up using two forks. Add the shredded chicken back to the pot. The spices I added were thyme, basil, poultry seasoning, sea salt and a little pepper. The last thing is to add the frozen noodles to the boiling soup. When it reaches a boil again after the noodles are added you reduce the heat and simmer about 30 minutes.

The best and most important step of this miracle cure (that is so delicious your Non-Sick family will eat it all up if you're not careful!) is to eat it - a lot! The first day, it's all I eat, and maybe the 2nd day too. It works for me and my husband as well. Old wives' tales are usually rooted in truth, so do yourself a favor and feed your cold with homemade chicken noodle soup.

Then get out there and enjoy those beautiful spring flowers before they are gone!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

We love all things that don't require toxic antibiotics and nasty big pharma, so GOOD ON YOU. Yes, and so often when we really need it we don't have the stock of the homemade noodles on hand :( Making extra each time and freezing a portion makes a lot of sense. The noodles can also easily be dried and kept for years in a well sealed glass container. ;) Home made and clever storage-planning = no excess plastic waste. Thanks for using the @ecotrain tag and hope to see much more of you.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Thank you for the welcome, and the support. I've never tried drying noodles, but that's a really good idea!

Thank you for shining bright on #ulog.

**Please join this discord: **

https://discord.gg/QDGEktx

We will have our first voice call in a day or two answer any question related to ‘ulog’ and the Teardrops SMT Ecosystem.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Thanks for inviting me, I've joined discord and completed the steps to become a "certified user"!❤️❤️

hahaha thank you again. With ulog we will humanize the entire globe. Thank you for loving this road

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45