#ULOG: COMING CLEAN

in #ulog6 years ago

image
Source

Hello everyone, I think I might be an alcohol addict. I've always believed life is about choices and that "things" don't have the power to control an individual's choices. I often heard stories about people's challenges with addiction and uncontrollable urges for "something", but took it to be some form conscious self destructive tendency.
My addiction started sometime last year, when at the time, I thought it to be a recreational habit/coping mechanism, but slowly morphed into what may be an addiction.
Last year was relatively rough for me, the girl I had been dating for three years got married to some dude one month after we broke up for some reason I still don't know about. Then only two months after that, I was involved in a life threatening car accident that left me with a bout of PTSD. This is when I developed the unhealthy habit of taking small sips of spirit at the start of every day to deal with the mental strain of using public transport.

Time went by and taking the odd "sips" wasn't enough(practice makes perfect you know?) to make me "forget" my troubles, so the cup size grew bigger and this, my dear friends is how it all began.

Like I said in my introduction, I always thought I had control over this urge and in some way, I kind of think I do because I started creating more and more reasons to drink; it's not something I'm unaware of an out of mind type situation, quite the contrary you see, as I slowly became the master of excuses.

I'm writing this post as a completely sober individual and I'm trying to reduce the number of reasons why I have to drink; the past sober 24 hours has felt like an eternity and honestly, I feel like taking a sip to celebrate that.

Sort:  

Great honesty - you may be interested in another post in today's MAP Upvotes...

Upvoted, resteemed and has been added to the latest MAP Upvotes post.

= Quality Content Creators can request to join MAP = see the Benefits = Free Membership =

Thanx for checking on me. I appreciate it.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

I don't believe the addiction is as serious as you are painting it to be...

It kinda is bro.I think of drinking very often

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by belemo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61956.82
ETH 2417.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62