Old Picon Quarry at Teguisete Ulog #19

in #ulog6 years ago

Sunday we went for a walk around Teseguite Picon quarry (volcanic gravel used on the fields to keep moisture in)
Now unused for many years but the structures and shapes left behind look almost Lunar.
P1010004.JPG Many tourists stop here out of curiosity I'm sure. And walk away scratching their heads.
P1010006.JPG
The views to the sea are stunning and rugged.
P1010007.JPG
I am sure many people think they are old caves and dwellings used by strange long forgotten civilizations.
P1010009.JPG
Every time I come her I collect a few bucket loads of the grey gravel it makes very good concrete
P1010010.JPG
Finally a view from behind the quarry over the hills. The tall tree like shoots are from the Agave cactus,
There are four major parts of the agave that are edible: the flowers, the leaves, the stalks or basal rosettes, and the sap (in Spanish: aguamiel, meaning "honey water"). Each agave plant will produce several pounds of edible flowers during its final season. ... When dried out, the stalks can be used to make didgeridoos. And in olden times they were used in roofing. But not least the root is used for making Tequila
P1010005.JPG
Hope you enjoyed our little tour of another curiosity on Lanzarote.
270212 004.jpg
20180325_214023_0001.png

Sort:  

Looks pretty beautiful. Looks like a picture with a headphone. Anyway, the mind gets mixed up. It is a matter of luck to go around.

Excellent photos. I have spent a vacation there, a few years ago. Not very lively but it's very pretty.

PS: I have found your post because @dipoabasch featured you in his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Nice post @andyjem! Stopping by to support it, after @dipoabasch featured it in our weekly @pifc contest.

Posted using Partiko Android

What a wonderful post and an interesting story and even more interesting photos. you are doing a great job and are well under way in steemit land. I think the teacher can now retire. You have earned an A+ and you have graduated and don't need any more Steemit lessons. Yep. The teacher can retire.

Thanks Marion, an A+ praise indeed. Anyway Teachers never retire, they just keep learning and passing on their knowledge :))

what a journey @andyjem, thanks for showing us the interesting part of your island.. I'm a bit curious about the agave though .. but I came to let you know that I've featured your post in the pay it forward contest this week, here is the link to my entry >> Entry to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest - Week 32

Thanks and Keep Steeming!

Thank you my friend that is a very nice gesture. Blessings

Posted using Partiko Android

There is a certain stark beauty to this landscape, thanks for sharing!

I've dropped by as you were featured by @dipoabasch

Thank you i am glad you enjoyed the post. Glad you dropped by 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, siapa yang ada diatas sana...

Posted using Partiko Android

Orang tidak tinggal di sana itu adalah tambang tua

Posted using Partiko Android

@andyjem, For sure this place is beautiful, amazing and breathtaking to explore. And all these Structural Designs and Shapes reflecting the essence of Artful world. And sometimes it reflects as we don't know lot of aspects of earth and it's an beautiful mystery.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

This area gives me thoughts about life going into death and Vice versa :) Great photos and a very interesting story. Did you collect some roots for home-made tequila? :D

PS: I found your post because @dipoabasch featured you in his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Interesting thoughts. Making Tequila at home works out quite expensive. All the equipment you need plus you need a lot if Agave. Its cheaper to buy a bottle or two in the shop.😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Its cheaper to buy a bottle or two in the shop.😎

And definitely safer! :D

So there's no information available for this site @andyjem? Tapi tetap menjadi salah satu obyek wisata?

Found your post through @dipoabasch entry post in the pay it forward contest this week. Thanks for sharing.. but I'd like to know more about that agave. Did you ever made a post about it before?

Hello my friend. No I have not posted about the Agave maybe I should. What would you like to know. Basically all of the plant can be eaten or used.

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear @andyjem 😉 you should try to demonstrate how you cook or use the benefit of agave with us here on steemit 😉 I don't know about agave and I wondering what is it. It must be unique and challenging. Maybe you can post it in #fruitsandveggiesmonday too. No.. this is not a request.. I'm suggesting😊 you're free to write whatever you like!

Thank you @cicisaja. That is certainly worth thinking about. I have never cooked or used the Agave before. I will do some research, find a plant that can be harvested and try some recipes. 😎😄

Posted using Partiko Android

Whooaa... let me know if you succeeded 😉 don't make tequila 😂 I read sometimes ago about this agave recipe though but.. I'd prefer the traditional and local recipe too. Good luck @andyjem

I think Tequila will be out of the question, to muich work and equipment needed. And its cheap at the shop lol .

I have been using Agave for years. Tastes nice..Can be used as a substitute for Maple Syrup and for baking and in place of brown sugar. Great for diabetics since it does not alter your Glycemic Index.

That is so interesting, We have a local restaurant that uses it as a sauce on steak, it goes very well. So you can buy the syrup there in Nova Scotia. I don't suppose they grow there though. do they?

Yes you can purchase it here. Also Blue Agave. I have been using it for years. No, you can not grow it here. It most likely comes from New Mexico or Arizona. Places like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56835.87
ETH 2399.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39