ULOG #3: My heart's little persistence

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

image
My little guy

It's been a little over 6 months now. I've never thought I'd be able to still nurse this long. Truth is, breastfeeding is not for the faint of heart. It's been a bittersweet time for me this far as I enjoy my time with my second child, yet sometimes I grieve a little for the times I could have spent with my first born. With my first born, she was supplementing and direct latching before she decided that she didn't want the breast anymore once she started solids at 6 months.

image
My little girl

It's crazy how we as mothers beat ourselves up so much for the things we can't control, I remember crying a lot because I felt like an utter failure for not being able to fully nurse my daughter. As a young parent there was so much shame whenever people asked me if she was breastfed. What's crazier was the fact that no matter what you do there will always be people judging you by your actions while they judge themselves kindly by their intentions.

Since then, I've learnt to let people talk to my hand.

Time and time again my husband and I would remind each other that we are not going to feed on people's expectations at the expense of our children's health and well-being just because it doesn't fit into their definition of child-rearing. Our babies are happy and healthy, and that's what matters. And we don't say this out of spite or ignorance.

Being a parent is hard enough, so instead of adding misery into the menu, I'd rather we add more cheese.

Now that my little guy has started his solids journey, I have also started supplementing him with a bottle or two. I would pump when I can, but because he nurses on demand, I don't get much chance to do so. I'm just glad that I have gotten myself the Hakka silicone pump, it has saved quite a bit of let downs the past many months.

My little guy isn't big in size, and even after trying my hands on supplementing him a couple of bottles of formula milk in an attempt to up his weigh the past month, which by the way was suggested by the doctor, his weight was still consistently low. Usually babies would go up in weight approximately 1KG per month, but he has only been going up half a KG a month for the past two months continuously. The only part that was on normal percentile was his head circumference. To make up for my shaken heart, I joked with the doctor saying that all the milk must have gone to his head.

Whatever it is, as long as he's healthy, happy and well fed, we are not too worried. Now that he loves food, I have some new problems. What to feed him, and what to make him poop.

O the wonders of parenthood!

To all parents young and old, bless you knowing that you have what it takes to parent your child. May God grant you peace and wisdom, as well as daily grace and ever growing love. Cheers to you, remember that you are never alone in this lovely journey. It is tough being a parent, but it is also an honor to steward such precious lives. Much love to all.


20180212_193505.png

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

20180516_002249_0001.png


@steemitbloggers

Asapers.gif

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

I love how you implemented the tree picture in the photo! So cool! First of all you are a wonderful momma :) and yeah there will always be judging from other people.. but stick to what you want and feel is good.. then you're always good..

People should not judge others about the choices they make (bottle/breast etc) because you said it so well: parenting is hard enough, let's not add misery to that .. (love that!)

I feel you on the pumping part by the way... I could barely pump any milk with my youngest as she was nursed on demand too.. so when I had to leave for almost a whole day my boyfriend had to give her formula..

Good luck with all the choices that are there to be made.. ;)

You got voted by @votefun thanks to Alimamasstory. We are still in early alpha, users can use us to get free upvotes. This is mainly directed towards users of the @cryptowithincin bot. We are in a few discord servers. To get full benefits, you have to be subscribed to @cryptowithincin. To support us, you can delegate to @votefun or just give this comment a upvote. Or you can even use http://votefun.tk/ to trade your STEEM/SBD for other coins. We charge a 0.1% fee and most of that will be used to help votefun get more steempower.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Alimamasstory from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Very true, there is always someone to judge parenting. Realizing that makes it not so bad though - knowing it's impossible takes away the need to try to make everyone happy.

Nursing is a special time. Enjoy.

Heyyy @ginnyannette, lovely seeing you here. Hope you're well! Come drop by and say hi at @steemitmamas sometime, xx

Yes I should. As I'm sure you know with little kids, time management is always a challenge :)

Congratulations @alimamasstory! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks for the info.

Namaste, JaiChai

I love this post! You are so right, so many people have advice to give, so much it can make your head spin. Love your pictures, baby is beautiful.

That is a really cool concept, the tree with the roots. Well done, and artfully executed!

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to Alimamasstory! This bot is managed by @KiwiBot and run by @rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive maximum rewards, you must be a member of @KiwiBot. To receive free upvotes for yourself (even if you are not a member) you can join the KiwiBot Discord linked here and use the command !upvote (post name) in #curationkiwi.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56647.53
ETH 2372.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26