Learning: Magic - Rude (Ukulele FingerStyle) TABS

in #ukulele6 years ago (edited)



Magic - Rude (Ukulele Fingerstyle Tutorial)

This week I'll be learning Magic -Rude on Ukulele. This will be an advanced fingerstyle rendition of the song.

To learn this week's song I'll be using various YouTube videos that display other ukulele players jamming to this awesome song or sharing how to play it in their own tutorials.

cocotv.jpg

Learning The Song -My Approach


Unfortunately, for me, I haven't found any tabs for this song that encompass the best renditions that I've heard on Ukulele. It appears that most of the really good players don't regularly show their tabs or make the tabs an exclusive/paid feature of their video (not a bad approach, but I just want to learn and rock), because of this, much like with my Alicia Keys learning tutorial post, I will be writing out the tabs for the song so that myself and anyone else that wants to rock isn't prohibited by not having the tabs.

The Hard Parts - Picking


When I think about the difficulties of learning what I consider tough finger picking or dexterity for a song, I get really corny and think about how great musicians got so good, or at least, how it's portrayed to us. In my nerdy recollection I envision a boy sitting at his television, watching Elvis or Jimi play the guitar. The youngster eagerly watches the TV, not just watching for entertainment value, but education. His eyes aren't on the hips or the flashy outfit, he's concentrated on the finger movements of his idol. He's training himself in his own way, out of pure hunger for knowledge.

Call me a little crazy, but I can see a lot of myself in this kid. The only difference is, instead of a tv, I have a pc, and instead of a celebrity I'm learning from other talented musicians that are teaching a new generation, whether they know it or not.

Now, saying all of that I don't want you to get the wrong idea. I'm not crazy uke obsessed, trying to be the best in the world, however I do want to sound good. Blame my ambition.

I may have to make more than one post for the tab. if There are some dramatic changes that I edit to the tabs, I will do so either on this post and comment the edit, or in an entirely new post. In either case, I'll do my best to tag all the content so that you can easily stay in the loop.

Why Rude?


Aside from this being warm feeling pop song, I think it is relatable for a lot of men and young boys that are dating and want to meet the family's expectations. I know I've been shoed away from a daughter or two in my day, and it would the most harmless of occasions, you know, the type of thing that makes you go "why you gotta be so rude?"

If you've never heard the original song, I've posted some links below, which will help you with that problem. One video is of the original song, by Magic, and the others are of people's rendition of the song on Ukulele. I've only displayed talented uke players here, so it'll be a tough act to follow in just a few days, but hey, who am I to back down from a self-proclaimed challenge?

Behold, the many renditions of Rude. Enjoy.



TABS: Magic - Rude (tabs by Smurf)


Verse
A//------2--3--2---0--------2-3--2-------------------------------------------------------------------------
E//-0/1-------------1--3----------------------0---0--1------------3----------------------------------------
C//------------------------2--------------------0---0--------0---------------0-------------------------------
G//----------------------------------(repeat x2)-------------------------------------------------------------

A//--7----8--7--5-------7-----8---7-----3---3---3---5-----7----8-----------------------------------------
E//--5-----------7---8---7----------------3---3--------------8-----------------------------------------------
C//--5-----------7--------7----------------0---0--------------9-----------------------------------------------
G//----------------------------(repeat to ^)------------------------------------------------------------------

PreChorus
A//------2/3--3--3---0--------3/2---2---2-----2/0-------0----0-------------0------------0--------
E//-1------------------------------1--------------1------------3---3---------------0---3---3-----0---
C//---------------------------------------------0---0--------0------4-----------------------4----------
G//-------------------------2-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chorus
A//---3--10--(x3)---3--3---------5/7-----5--3---10-(x3)------3-------3---------5/7--------5------
E//---3---5--(x3)----3-------------5/7----5--3-----7-(x3)------5------------------7/9------------1--
C//---0---5--(x3)----2-------------5/7----5--------7-(x3)-------5-------------------------------------
G//----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chorus pt 2
A//---2/3----3--2/3-----3----3------5---7--------3---------2------3----3----2------3-----3-----3--
E//---5------------5-------------------5-------------5-----3---3-----------------3-----------------------
C//---4------------4-------------------5------------5----------2-----------------2-----------------------
G//----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chorus pt 3
A//---3--10--(x3)---3--3---------7-----7------5------10--------7----7---5----------------
E//---3---5--(x3)----5--5---------5------------5------------------7--------3----------------
C//---0---5--(x3)----5--5---------5------------5------------------7--------2---------------
G//-------5-(x3)--------------------5------------5------------------7-------------------------

Verse 2
A//-------2--3--2---0--------2-3--2-----------------------------------------------0---------
E//-0/1--1-----------1--3----------------------0---0--1------------3-----------------------
C//----------------------------2-----------------0---0--------0---------------0--------------
G//----------------------------------------------(repeat x2)---------------------------------

Verse 2 pt 2
A//--8----8--8--8---7---5-----8/10-----3-----7---7---7---7----3----8----7-----3/0------
E//--5-----------5--------7-----8/10-----3-------------------5----------------------3/0------
C//--5-----------5--------7-----8/10-----0-------------------5----------------------0---------
G//----------------------------(repeat to ^)----------------------------------------------------


Wrap-up


This is the part where I apologize for writing such poor tabs. It's only my second time writing them out, but hey, practice makes perfect. Also, hopefully I'll be able to put something together in the future so that I can have some more professional looking tabs, but until then, enjoy these, and be sure to check back in for edits during the week! :)

With any luck, I'll be playing this song on Thursday for Steemit Open Mic, however if I get held up, I'll have to play another song instead. Let's get that goal!


Thanks for tuning in.

Sort:  

Your post is highlighted and given additional feedback in Issue #5 of Music Today here: https://steemit.com/sma/@smacommunity/music-today-issue-5-or-a-sma-community-initiative

STOP THE SPAM @ARTEMIS94

WOW - 141 SPAM Comments in 4 hours...and counting. Nobody in the whole world read 141 posts and answer that fast..... so you just answer smartass answers.

You will be ending up with nothing if you continue like this. Your Reputation will go down the drain.
This is SPAM - I will start to downvote you til you stop this nonsense.

Regards
@Ramta Reddington - Your worst nightmare

Sorry my post has attracted drama xD
I really appreciate the vote :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49