UKIAH CHALLENGE #2 + Winners Announcement for Challenge #1 - Renaming the Challenge

in #ukiahhaiku7 years ago (edited)

Ukiah.jpg
When I created this challenge I had no idea there was already
a form of poetry named 'UKIAH'. Both that and this are variations
of Haiku, the notable differences being that the original Ukiah inverts
the syllable count (7-5-7) while this challenge changes the syllable
counts from week to week while still staying with the Haiku form
of lines 1 and 3 being the same and line 2 being different. All that
being said I have decided to add a prefix and rename this the
'Freestyle Ukiah Challenge'. Our rules, our challenge, our expression.

The Freestyle Ukiah challenge is simple. I will choose the syllable count and a broad subject for the Ukiah. You write a poem that follows those rules. Like I said - SIMPLE. I want to see if the community is open to breaking the rules a bit in their quest to express themselves. The winner of this challenge will receive the UKIAH MASTER trophy.

free.jpg

Prompts for this Challenge:
8-5-8 syllable count
BIRDS


Your Ukiah must follow the prompts for this challenge.
Create a post using the tag #ukiahhaiku and link your post here.
Deadline will be next Thursday at midnight EST.
NEW! You may include in your post a color
choice for your trophy if you should win!

Let's see what you got and Good Luck!!

jfoff.jpg

Winner of Challenge #1
@bluerinse


More volcano's and earthquakes are happening.
Nature is so vulnerable.
Earth pushed too far and now retaliating.


These lines just blew me away!
I read in this a comparison to bullying.


DOWNLOAD @bluerinse

At post payout for this post I will remove this image from my imgur page and the trophy will become the sole property of @bluerinse to use as he sees fit. Congratulations on the win!!

I you would like to use this trophy on any of your future posts and are having trouble I have written a post detailing how to do it HERE.



JAPH2.gif

Sort:  

Hello, here is my entry: Hope you like it!

https://steemit.com/ukiahhaiku/@emdesan/ukiah-challenge-2-the-owl

I just shared your post onto Facebook, trying to lure a friend onto this platform, your post is exactly her type of thing.

Thank You! I appreciate the support.

Oh my goodness she is going to lose her mind.
Blessed blue rinse, this is the first steemit contest she has entered and the first poem she has written.
It is 3am, I will wait to tell her lol. @bluerinse is a newly recruited steemian, and my mother.
She is the person driving me to appointments and helping with my kids.
Driving me crazy.
I started her of on steemit with the encouragement of contests. A haiku I thought was a great way to start writing as it is not too daunting.

She filled a book!

Funny part is she misunderstood my instruction and wrote word counts instead of syllables.
That stuff is gold. I will make sure she does a post about it and be sure to include the word count version of this poem 😂.
Stay awesome @japhofin8or

I thought she was a he! WHOOPS!! I'm going to edit the post real quick to change my gender ignorance. Congratulations to her and thank you for bringing her to the community! You stay awesome and positive too!!

I have resteemed this post! I have been posting a bit too much the last few days (I feel) to write one up for an #ukiahhaiku, but I absolutely love this idea! I do like breaking the rules, and it is my intention to break your rule about making a post! Thus, here is my entry:

Colored creatures living close by
eating and singing,
hiding under leaves to stay dry.

image_3
Photo © Ledis Arango V. @ecoinstante
The birds show my color choice ;p

Good Write. Good Luck!

Working on this. <3

I look forward to your entry!

I am delighted to have won.
Thank you!
Here is my entry for this week.

https://steemit.com/poetry/@bluerinse/entry-for-freestyle-ukiah-challenge-week-2

Congrats @bluerinse!!!! Cheers!!! :-)

This is my entry for Ukiah Challenge # 2. :) I hope you like it
https://steemit.com/ukiahhaiku/@ydal/ukiah-challenge-2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58