Wednesday Office

in #uk6 years ago (edited)


Working At: The Mad Hatter, Brighton


In an attempt to reduce the time I spend sitting in front of my computer screen on my own I went to the Helpful Peeps website, a week or so ago, to see if I could find others who want to meet up to work. I found a Writers Group, which I joined, and had my first meeting today with Lisa who is also at her first meetup.

We spent the first hour getting to know each other a bit and discovered we share a love of travel and of the old explorer stories.

We have now settled down to do some "work". She's busy writing a novel!

mad hatter.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

We choose this particular cafe because it's pretty central and possible for us both to walk to. However, when I looked up the write-ups they weren't very good - lots of posts about unfriendly staff and high prices. So far I'd have to agree.

I had a very nice fruit smoothie but it cost £5 which seems a bit steep. I don't have them very often though so I'm not sure is that's expensive or not. What do you think?

As usual, I forgot to take a photo but you're not missing much. It was presented in a very bog standard glass with nothing extra to make it more appealing. It tasted good though!

Other #workingat posts include:

The Hidden Pantry
The Salvage Cafe


Sort:  

At least you're meeting people at your overpriced, churlish waitstaff café office. :)

So, the smoothie was good, and it sounds like you got to know Lisa some. Did she elaborate on the novel at all? :)

Yes. I really enjoyed the company and hope we will do it again soon.
She said it's a crime novel. A barrister from Brighton gets murdered and she was talking about the research she had to do as her main character crosses the Nepalese bodrer illegally.

She was getting all excited talking about it and asked if I wanted to hear about how she came up with her main character but I said I needed to finish my blog post. I felt a bit mean but I hadn't done any "work" at that point and we'd already been chatting for over an hour.

I'll try and make a point of asking about him if we meet again. I hope we do though. She was an interesting woman! 😊

Well, hopefully. I'd also hope she wouldn't take offense. If it had been me you told no thank you, I'd be okay with it because if I were there to write my novel, I'd want to get back to it myself. We all think it's exciting and clever how we come up with our characters, stories, etc. I've been learning it's never as exciting or as clever to others as it is in my own head.

At least not until you become a very popular and well known author. Then, you might be able to get away with it, but primarily because people are there to specifically see you and learn about those things as opposed to wanting to work on their own things in a café. :)

I think she was fine. As you say she just got on with her writing. I am genuinely interested in continuing the conversation. I was just a bit panicked because I had a load of other stuff to do today and had intended to "work" flat out this morning and we'd already been chatting for more than an hour.

£5 smoothy? Bargain! Don't go for a smoothy in London.
By the way, isn't it "smoothie" :)

Yes it is "smoothie" @adetorrent. Funnily enough that popped into my mind as I was walking home. Very weird! #😁

Looks like a nice office!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62067.61
ETH 2414.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57