NEVER STOP DREAMING

in #uganda6 years ago (edited)


This is some of my work with the Islamic Solidarity Sport Federation(ISSF)

My childhood was marked by hardship and opportunity. I was born in Naguru, a Kampala city suburb on 9th October 1993 in a family of six children. I began playing tennis when I was just eight years old.
I was one of the most talented kids, predicted to have a wonderful future, but out of a sudden my life turned upside-down, when my father passed away.
It was a tough time for my family. My mother was forced to raise me and my 5 siblings on her own.
Life was a struggle throughout my childhood, as we moved from apartment to apartment while my mother tried to find solid work. I had to quit school as we had no money to pay for it. But I never gave up on tennis. I knew that my dad would have wanted me to play.

Help came from nowhere. A stranger noticed me during my trainings and suggested me to join Uganda Charity Trust Fund.
UCTF has since then supported me through my education and sporting career opening up a lot of opportunities. I came back to school and continued my trainings as hard as I could.

The key for me is giving back. I am happy and willing to help these children and hopefully inspire them to go for sports. Not long ago I was in the same position and all I needed was a helping hand. There is nothing more precious than children. That is why I decided to take part in the International Grassroots programme of Baku2017 Islamic Solidarity Games the main goal of which is sharing your experience with young generation.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This video was made to empower the young generation with courage, motivation and hope. It was short from KATANGA one of the biggest slams in the country. An Orphanage called "HOPE FOR KATANGA KIDS" let's support and put a smile on their face.

Congratulations @oringa! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59347.70
ETH 2534.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47