🔹 Matt "The Immortal" Brown Retiring After 13 Years

in #ufc7 years ago (edited)


Image Source

The Immortal Is Laying Down His Spear For Good


In my last post I said lots of fighters were making a comeback and that it looked like it was just that time of year or something. I spoke too soon. To balance out all the returning faces, Matt Brown is leaving the sport for good after his next and final fight vs Diego Sanchez (Another fighter that should probably consider retirement) this November.

Brown is coming off a 3 fight losing streak and is 1-5 in his last 6. This might seem foretelling of a retirement but Matt has faced this situation before. Back in 2011 he was 1-4 in his last 5 and he went off on a 7 fight win streak which saw him defeat names like Stephen Thompson, Mike Swick, and Erick Silva.

The last time we saw Matt in the octagon is when he got KO'd by Cerrone. Up until that point the fight was very competitive. To be able to stand and trade with Donald Cerrone, that's saying something. Matt Brown is now aged 36 and after suffering his fair share of KOs I think he's making the right choice.

As much as I'd like to see him fight again as a fan of the sport, it would be selfish of me to ask him to risk his health further for my own entertainment. A big thank you to Matt Brown for the amazing fights he's given us over the years.

"If you enjoyed this post I would greatly appreciate a follow or an upvote, thank you for reading what I had to say"

More MMA News!

Carlos Condit NOT Retiring


Who's Next For The Heavyweight Champ?


Canelo vs GGG Wasn't A Robbery

Sort:  

He was a good fighter and he's been entertaining us for years. Perfectly fine with him retiring.

Definitely, I hope Diego also retires. I also wouldn't mind Mark Hunt retiring tbh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67321.51
ETH 3513.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83