Facepalming over keyboard issues...

in #ubuntu8 years ago

So I finally decided to salvage usable parts of my spare laptop to add to my desktop - starting with the 500GB Samsung 840 Evo SSD drive. It was just sitting idle in the corner not being utilised for like a year now.

I figure it'll be a good opportunity to also just install Ubuntu on it to actually give myself a functional Ubuntu device (I'm a Windows user). Shouldn't be too difficult right? 

Expectation (I'm gonna be done in an hour!)

  1. Add in new drive
  2. Install Ubuntu on it
  3. Toggle whether to boot from Windows or Ubuntu via the BIOS.
  4. All good! Yay!

Reality (What is time?)

  1. Opens up tower to add new SSD drive
  2. Realise how dusty the whole thing is. Spends 2 hours cleaning it up.
  3. Add new SSD Drive
  4. Download Samsung's Magician software to do a reset of the SSD drive
  5. Realise it resetting from Windows 8 and above requires a bootable USB thumbdrive
  6. Do (4)
  7. On boot from the thumbdrive, realise the display is garbled. 
  8. Opt to just use Windows diskpart to reset the partitions on the SSD drive
  9. All seemed good. Proceed to install Ubuntu on "new" SSD drive
  10. Done!... not. Realised somehow my keyboard(Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth 2014) has stopped working. Intermittently detectable. Tried plugging in another keyboard(standard MS keyboard) and it works. 
  11. Debug keyboard to determine if the Razer keyboard is wonky or what. 
  12. Uninstalled and reinstalled drivers and all that nonsense.
  13. Still didn't work. Got tired and took a nap.
  14. Woke up, realised that if i plug my mouse to same set of USB ports, my mouse fails to function too. Realised that in debugging my keyboard, I had totally not tested to see if the USB ports were the problem.
  15. Figures out that perhaps USB port is not receiving sufficient power. 
  16. Opens desktop tower and connect some new wires.
  17. Finally it all works.
  18. All good! Yay!

Facepalming because I should have been more organised with determining the problem. But feeling an odd sense of accomplishment.

Now what? lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55262.33
ETH 2465.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18