Sort:  

Nice to see more Linux users on Steemit.

I've been using Ubuntu 14.04 for the last few years. I may be in the minority here, but I love the Unity interface, so simple yet functional.

Before that I was using earlier versions of Ubuntu, and at some point Arch Linux. Last time I used Windows as my main OS was in 2007 or something.

which distribution?

its ubuntu based ; however it is update more often than the main distro.

I'm on the newly renamed macOS for my home machine. I spent a few years toying around with different Linux distros. My favorite was probably xubuntu, I'm a real sucker for Xfce. I still use Ubuntu on my server but that's all the Linux I use these days. I spend the most amount of time on my Windows 7 work machine. It's bearable as long as I don't think about trying to tweak things like the dickens.

That's the appropriate expression: A sucker for XFCE. I've been looking for a phrase to coin what I feel and that's the right one. KDE, MATE, GNOME all have interesting stuff but for some reason I keep coming to Xubuntu even on new machines. For me it just feels right and has felt right for the past 10 years I've been distrohopping. The only other distro/desktop I've used and liked was the one that comes with Elementary OS.

Any recommended OS for netbook with AMD C-60 APU with 2GB RAM? Just office use, FB, documents, steemit. Because I need to sent documents in office form so other staff using windows can open and edit them easily. now running Wins10

Hi, may I recommend you try out several distro's and run them as live CD's first! My older Lenovo W7 now runs the latest Linux Mint Mate edition and I'm extremely impressed - and very happy there are options outside of Windows & Mac. Live CD's are also an added layer of security for online banking as an example, not just to use as an operating system. You can go to a site like distowatch.com and see the popular and freshest new flavors. You simply down load the ISO file onto DVD presumably, or CD for distros of smaller sizes like Puppy Linux as an eample of another small, fast, and very neat operating system.So once you down load the ISO file you'll need the right software that burns ISO images. Burn and then you can pop it in the CD/DVD of the computer you intend on using this for, reboot the computer, hit F12 a few times, toggle the up and down arrows to select the CD/DVD drive and your new operating system loads, never touching your internal hard drive at any time. When you decide on the one you want, each distro will have an install icon. Once you start this process you can either wipe away windows and anything on your computers hard drive forever and install your new operating system, or you can install it along side Windows if you choose. The best part about open source is really to me a prime example of community involvement for better good. Hope it works out for you.

Upvoted you

I tried Neon for the first time last week. I hadn't used KDE since 2008 because I didn't like it back then, I was distrohoping but it wasn't made for me. Neon is a great improvement over what I used back then, I loved the looks and the eyecandy got to me so I ran it on a VM. The thing is that, for me, it didn't feel right. Looks amazing but I still don't like KDE. Maybe because I love XFCE and would rather use Gnome 2 or MATE, don't really know why. It's a matter of taste I think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.90
ETH 2348.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36