You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Universal Basic Income: What do you think of it?

in #ubi5 years ago
  1. It is Communist Utopian Tripe. We compete for limited resources, not share them. There isn't enough to go around already.
    UBI is an affront to the natural order. It will encourage people to become weak and lazy. Societies that reject it will surpass those that adopt it. I don't support it but if other people do fine, I can always go over there if I fail.
  2. Tax those who are productive.
  3. More taxes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

So you're gonna tell me that Milton Friedman is a communist? Thomas Paine, advocated for this at the founding of the country, and they already have it in one of the deepest red states in the country, where it was passed by a republican governor, as well as passed by a republican house under a republican president, Richard Nixon.

There are limited forms that exist, but they hardly describe the economy. A safety net is a great alternative to welfare, but that is not quite communism. I don't know where to draw the line, but if you ask the people on UBI they tend to want more and more. A lot of proposals suggest its expansion. I am not too aware of the proposals youbare discussing, but my guess is the emphasize basic rather than universal and have a limited sense of what welfare entails. Not all UBI is the same. I would rather avoid supporting it unless what I am supporting is clear.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60164.54
ETH 2420.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43