You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Uber New Year Update

in #uber8 years ago

Loved your story. :) I always sit in the front and had no idea that makes me a "fronty" :)

Every time I take an Uber/Lyft I always have really fun conversations and always ask how they like it. Seems to be working out well for you. Thanks for giving me a behind the scenes look. Following for future content.

I've listened to Sam Harris talk on it before. Great stuff. I want to read his book on it also. I enjoyed the Moral Landscape as well.

Sort:  

Thank you very much! What a lovely comment :D

I do love it. Much more than I thought I would. I've been writing privately for a while on Facebook but my friend thought I might find an audience here. I'm glad you're enjoying it and that you're a proper fronty.

I must read what some other people are writing on here, including yourself.

I keep meaning to buy a Sam Harris book but I really only listen to his podcasts.

All the best and happy new year!

The strangest thing: I just watched a couple of videos on Steemit basics and one of them was you! Is this a lottery-size coincidence or do you have a different reading?

Hahah. Nice.

Our brains like to make connections and build meaning even when there isn't any. I'm a (somewhat) early adopter who put out a video when few were doing so. If you go through videos, it's bound to come up eventually until more are created. Not much of a coincidence there. :)

Well in that case it's an honour to be followed by a Steemit pioneer! I hope to become as excited as you about the platform.

My big concern is that I might one day like to publish a book. But if everything already exists on the blockchain I wonder if any publisher will republish. Do you have any thoughts on this?

I have about thirty posts (including my Uber origin story) from Facebook that I would love to post but this is a worry.

My friend Jeff Goins would be the one to ask about book publishing. That said, in my amateur opinion, the traditional model of book publishing seems to be changing quite a bit. The gate keepers of information don't exist as they once did (or they aren't as valuable). I used to work at the same company as Jon Acuff who basically converted existing blog posts into a book which worked out really well for him. If the content is good, people will pay to have it organized in a book form instead of sifting through a bunch of blog posts to find the thirty you would include in a book.

Nowadays, having a book seems to be more about marketing than making a profit selling the book. If you're an author, you can more easily get speaking gigs and you have a really great business card at networking events ("Here, have a copy of my book"). I've been told I should write a book by various people, but haven't seen the need to yet. I'm fine running my company, I don't need the "author" title as well.

This is very interesting. The traditional publishing avenue stuff is something I was also told by @matrjoschka. It does make sense.

The marketing angle is new information and very interesting. I have no need to speak at events but if I do maybe I'll publish a book!

Thank you for your thoughts. I will publish some of my older work I think :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.53
ETH 3316.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70