James The Fast

in #twentyfourhourshortstory6 years ago (edited)

July 31, 1800

  • James Cassidy-
    Better known as Jaimie the fast.

Those were the inscriptions written in a delicate and refined letter on the golden plate, visible to those who were interested in knowing a man lost in time. The wax sculpture, behind the identification plate protected by a security cord, showed all the features of a strong man, in his twenties, with a whole life ahead.

A man with strong marked cheekbones, exercised arms and defined legs. Like any cowboy this one had his hat, wearing it in a way that I'm sure nobody could have worn it that way during that time.

For some reason that false wax statue annoyed me, it seemed almost an insult to the other wax sculptures in the museum. And it is that compared to the others it has details that I found disturbingly realistic.

On the right cheek the cowboy had a trail of sand, almost as if time had not passed, as if he were back in 1800, he is doing nothing more and nothing less than 218 years ago, a day like today. Celebrating a victory with his chest erect and the only evidence of his victory a trail of rodeo sand on his cheek and a few drops of sweat. Details that would only increase their appeal.

"A man's legend" - The voice next to me took me out of my mind, next to me a freckled young man with a hat and shirt both salmon color with the logo of the museum.

"I never heard from him" - With sincerity he had not done it.- "What a special thing did this cowboy to deserve a sculpture?

In my voice I could not help a slight tone of mockery and disbelief. The boy just smiled and continued to observe the sculpture with great admiration.

"He's my favorite of all" - His enthusiasm showed that that was really what he felt.

"And why?" - I fixed my eyes on the statue and did not see anything interesting that a cowboy could have done to deserve to be remembered for life.

"He was the most real of all here, he was a great cowboy from the old west, he still loved to tame bulls, he felt alive in the rodeo arena, he was the best of the time, even his last score is a very difficult one to get Currently a perfect 91.25 achieved in the only arena of North Dakota, it was unstoppable and the tour was just beginning, after that it would go to Virginia, it would have completely destroyed "- His enthusiasm was incredible, almost as if he was talking about someone known.

"And why did not he get to Virginia?"

"The worst thing that can happen to a bull trainer is to injure oneself" - He spoke with a touch of disappointment.

"That's what happened to him?" He hurt himself? "The boy who now detailed as a redhead just sighed and saw him again wax cowboy.

"He had practically finished with his great score, the bull he rode was one of the roughest bulls, his name was Abrasive Hunter, a demon in the sand, and when something had ended he had to distract Jaimie, nobody knows what happened, he just fell He had an external fracture in his right leg and a concussion.

That certainly was a tragic end to someone who could have been a star.
"It sounds terrible" - The freckled boy just shrugged.

"He was, but in a way if he had survived the fracture it would have prevented him from riding again, for him it was his life that sport ... Nothing more gratifying than that is precisely doing what he loved most."

No doubt I understood the point, although it sounded gloomy to prefer to die while doing what you love most in life should be a kind of personal pride.

That thought and the talk with the boy kept me very thoughtful during what he subtracted during the day. Without realizing it, it was already night and I was ready to sleep. The day had gone by in the blink of an eye.

I'm not sure when I fell asleep, but one thing I was sure of was that I was dreaming. That was the only thing that explained what I did on top of a violent bull that was shaking at full speed.

I was about to panic if it were not for the fact that the emotions I felt were not mine, were alien, emotions of James Cassidy.

The emotion, the adrenaline, the danger and the excitement.

Those were emotions that I had never felt before, it was wonderful. Then I realized that my body did not respond to what I wanted. It was as if everything was programmed and I was just a spectator.

A spectator trapped in the body of Jaimie el veloz.

The bull stopped and the crowd shouted happily in the rodeo arena, the announcer announcing the score as the highest in history. A perfect 91.25.

This seemed completely surreal, not only was he in the body of Jaimie the swift, but he is living just his last moment of glory, the last moment of his life.
James seemed very focused, he could feel the tensing of his muscles, it was magnificent. Then in the distance something seemed to call his attention, in the distant sky both James and I could notice a large spot blending with the clouds, becoming increasingly clear.

The figure was huge, oval and with lights. It looked like a kind of UFO. The crowd in the stands did not seem to notice her or be aware of the figure.

Then the grip of one of James's hands was released to raise it and point to the UFO.

A big mistake.

He could not finish raising his hand when the Abrasive Hunter honoring his name shook with such force that James was left off his back.

Afterwards there was only darkness.

The next day I could not avoid going to visit James Cassidy, or rather to his statue.

When previously that sculpture annoyed me I did not do it anymore, I felt a certain admiration for the man. The sculpture showed the truth of a man who loved what he did until the end. That he had the only mistake of being distracted by something incomprehensible for his time and even after 218 years now was a mystery such an event.

Maybe James was not a president, nor a famous revolutionary.

But something was completely true, James Cassidy was who he wanted to be until his last moment and that undoubtedly deserved to be remembered.

i leave my soul in this entry qwq i hope u like it

https://steemit.com/twentyfourhourshortstory/@mctiller/writers-win-5-steem-twenty-four-hour-short-story-contest-july-31-a-cowboy-during-the-1800s-in-the-american-west-runs-into-a

Sort:  

Interesting take on the idea. Good job.

Possessed by a dead cowboy who saw a flying saucer! A glimpse into a man's past (and now, you know)!" Amazing! Loved it!
CARRY ON!

I know qnq i write first on spanish and then i translate it carefully, but this time, i didn't have it xD i just translate it with google tranlate and when i could (now xD) i will fix it

You did well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75