FREEDOM IS CLOSE

FREEDOM IS CLOSE

Just a little more and I'll be free.

No more humiliations.

No more teasing.

There was a time where I was feared, where I was respected and the miserable human souls bowed and begged for mercy. A clemency that I would never give them, I would pretend to consider it only to feed that bland heart with hope and finally devour their souls.

Those were my days of glory, not only mine but of all the greater demons as well as me. Extending our great wings, frightening populations and destroying towns and cities, turning them into dust, leaving nothing in our path.

That's the way it was thousands of years ago, when the human being was just a mass of easy-to-handle meat. Then came the brave, those who dared to confront us.

Many brave died and the more they died, the braver they formed and fought.

They never gave up and left until their last breaths in battle, hoping that one day they could subdue us and at that time I would have made fun of this absurd idea.

But they did it.

Centuries passed but they managed to deceive us, they managed to stop us.

"Neither demons can enter this Church"

Those were his words, that was his provocation. A Church wouldn't stop us, a holy place meant absolutely nothing to us. We should have considered it as a trap, that humans weren't as stupid as before and the brave ones were now called scientists, creators of technology, using the greatest force in this world without even knowing it.

The magic.

They mocked our sense of superiority and took our trust for granted.

Enter the Church was simple, more than it should have been, then a group of humans gathered lit artificial lights that hurt us, it was as if we were burned and the fire of hell was just a cool feeling in comparison.

One by one each of my companions were becoming stone. Terrifying sculptures showing their faces of terror.

I managed to spread my wings and fly as high as I could, taking impulse of the great candelabra, climbing higher and higher, tripping over the illuminated corridors with those red lights, reaching the highest tower, so close to freedom, ready to leave weakly grabbed the balcony.

I just had to take one more step and the effect of that Church would cease in me. Just a little more.

" You shall not pass!"

The words froze me, but still giving a fierce roar showing the world my fang jump to fall into the void.

But I didn't make it.

I became stone and my body was embedded in the bricks of that Church.

The petrified image of a demon trying to escape that would adorn that building for centuries.

I don't know the whereabouts of my companions, I don't even remember how many years I've been stuck here.

All I know is that my freedom is near.

An eternity has passed and the world has changed, unaware that it is what first managed to appease the demons.

The humans had faith and their courage was rewarded. They won the battle hundreds of years ago but were unaware that the war would be imminent.

The world changed, yes, but not for better, destruction is coming and that has nothing to do with us demons, humans themselves have traced their end and the earth will take revenge for the contempt and carelessness that humans have given him.

And I will be there, watching and little by little being freer. Even now I can feel the cracks around my wings.

When that happens, I will end up with every human and I will be charged every year trapped in this prison, locked in my own body, watching each day pass slowly observing to humans.

They will pay dearly, the strength will come back to me and their fear will feed me like never before.

And they will never forget the name of Agramon, the great demon of fear, the one who will make them miserable until the last day of their lives.

I hope you like it, I take this idea from the old belief that gargoyles represent demons that try to escape and do not succeed.

https://steemit.com/twentyfourhourshortstory/@mctiller/congrats-to-swissclive-for-winning-the-may-29-twenty-four-short-story-contest-check-out-the-other-entries-as-well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57367.79
ETH 3098.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32