You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So, my wife is a cat. 24 hour short story

The layers man, the pecking layers man. (So obviously great job on that @curie vote by the way, but let’s move on now.) So where do I begin? Well... let’s begin at the start with a classic set-up scene for the entire conversation that leads to the plot twist’s plot twist. So I liked how the dialogue was differented by - and " marks. Just one point is that you can use <“i”> (just remove the quotation marks) in conjunction with quotation marks as to differentiate a third person in any given dialogue. On that, the line with the stranger talking about their spouse: can you italicize or quotation mark it when the person stops. Not for my sake but to make it easier on a reader (and judges who can be nitpicky) in any given scenario other than this. Moving on, I like how the bar mates are just staring blankly (which gives rise to a lowercase s skepticism) at the fact that his wife was actually a cat.

Seeing all the mental gymnastics to create a story, which mind yah the wife was eavesdropping in on. And for that story to shatter immediately (regardless if it’s true or not) just breaks me into laughter and a gleeful smile that the wife wasn’t actually a cat. Yet sad I am the wife didn’t punt the husband nor give any other emotion than shock (which I guess for 24 hours it is fine, but do attempt at giving background characters like yah did with the stranger some moreness than stated facts).

(Warning: personal taste inbound. About any of which, I would enjoy just a little authorial “after the fact” / aftermath / post hoc scene of the wife and husband just talking about what has went down. Not resolving but taking recognition for their joint and individual faults; no blame other than acknowledgement. Lest yah wanna make them split,... yah got a certain few ways to do so and I know it would be great all equally. But that’s just personal preference and yah got a deadline to keep up with.)

No matter the case: I like to see yer thoughts on my entry for this contest, continue creating and learning from others and happy steeming!
0CF1C2CB-B871-4059-A6C9-AE34B33DC331.gif

Sort:  

Hi @theironfelix! I am very grateful that you have read my story and more that you help me improve my narrative with your advice. I really appreciate it. I'll read yours and comment.

Welcome!~ ^^
Thabks for gifting us a story like this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67657.28
ETH 3498.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70