Halloween (A Short Story)

in #twentyfourhourshortstory6 years ago (edited)

https://steemit.com/twentyfourhourshortstory/@mctiller/writers-win-5-steem-oct-16-twenty-four-hour-short-story-contest-the-jack-o-lanterns-in-a-town-come-to-life

Halloween

by Jaundré M. van Breda

"Morning, pumpkin," Jack gave Lisey a peck on the cheek.
"Is that your idea of a Halloween joke?," Lisey smiled.
"Well..."
"Nevermind. Did you wake the kids up yet?"
"I'm on my way," Jack said, giving Lisey another peck on the cheek.

Jack knocked on Sarah's door and opened the door. She lay quietly beneath the covers.
"Wake up, sweety."
He went inside the bedroom.
"Sarah? You have to..."
Jack noticed her head. It looked too... big.
"Sarah?"
He walked slowly toward his sleeping daughter
and pulled away the covers.

Lisey screamed. She had gone to wake Thomas but found nothing but a pumpkin in his bed.
"What's wrong, hun?," Jack yelled from Sarah's bedroom.

"It's been a week and no sign of them," Lisey sighed. Jack didn't know what to say.
"We need to be strong," he finally managed. There was a knock on the front door. Jack got up from the couch. Someone knocked again.
"I'm coming!"
He opened the door to find two Jack-o-lanterns outside.
"Stupid kids," he muttered.
He picked one of the carved pumpkins up and found a note inside its orange mouth.
We miss you, dad.


image

Sort:  

Cute :) Pumpkin kids !!!

Haha. I wrote this in half an hour.

Listen to the woman, she knows what she is talking about 😄

Also... since I stalk you on Instagram, why don’t you share more of your poetry here? I really enjoy it 🤗

Lol. It's a pleasant surprise seeing you here! I'll see what I can do. 😂

Lol, I swear it’s not as creepy as it sounds.. I found your Instagram through your steemit page 😉

Lol. I'm not creeped out. I'm glad.

You probably should try to write longer pieces, I think you're not only a talented illustrator but also I'd love to read more of your longer stories :)

Thank you! My longest story is about 7000 words. That's like a novel to me, lol.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70