You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Walls - my entry for @mctiller's 24 hour short story competion

Oh my word this is hair raising! The story is so well written, despite knowing the prompt, I found myself caught up in his surprise as he realised he could see through the walls. The descriptions of reading are uncannily brilliant, I just loved the line

his gaze tripping over the words like a drunk man stumbling up a flight of stairs

It is just so perfect, I could immediately picture the moments I had done just that with a book that just wasn't going in, that blind stagger. The ending works so well - just beautiful!

Sort:  

Many thanks calluna! I appreciate it! I barely got it slashed down to 2,000 words in time for the deadline, and a lot of mistakes slipped through, but I'm happy to hear the writing itself holds up! It was through one of your resteems that I found out about the contest, and I very much enjoyed your entry! So cool! :D Thanks again!

Aww that is awesome! And thank you! Glad you found me :) Well I very much hope to see you in future rounds!

I actually have a writing contest with a much longer deadline Tell A Story To Me and would highly recommend Electric Dreams which still has a few days left and Finish The Story which runs every week - I am always trying to find new contests to enter :)

Thanks for the info! I'll definitely check those out. Yay contests! :D

With a nickname like yours we, the Bananafish outer God, can not help inviting you to our weekly contest and follow you.. and remember: that is not dead which can eternal lie. And with strange aeons even death may participate to the Finish the Story contest.

Thanks bananafish! I've been enjoying the Finish the Story entries this week and I'll definitely be joining in next round. I appreciate the invite and the reference! :D

We have a quite Lovecraftian 23rd week.. see you there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87