Wrong Choice? (Short Story - Art Prompt Writing Contest)

in #twbwritingcontest6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0640 (4).jpg

It was two days ago when I met her, she was seated at the far end of this pier staring into the thick fog like she was staring into a bleak long distant future, there was scare on her face and she looked feeble as though she would break any minute. She looked me in the eyes occasionally and then away, she must have pulled in a great effort to try fighting off the riverbank ready to burst and find it way down her cheek.

Maybe she is indeed strong afterall, I said to myself.

I have never seen anyone like her, not when I was a kid nor while I’m growing up, her beauty I considered unmatched, she has a coily long black hair and her skin was light complexioned, eyebrows were well shaped, she has a narrow lip which dangle loosely as she sobs. She’s indeed an epitome of beauty.

Lady…ssshh!!! Don’t cry anymore, what’s your name? I asked in a stammer unsure of what to say next, she raised her eyebrow and stared blankly at me again, the silence sent a shiver down my spine and I shook visibly with the passing breeze. I had waited patiently for about 5 minutes and almost turned my back to go before she whispered her name. “Allison, my name is…Allison, she replied in a more audible voice than before, “ I drew closer and was deeply lost in thought as I fantasized about that melodious voice of hers.”

Who is she? I searched for answers within.

I was already an inch distance from this mysterious stranger, I had so many questions I wanted answers to badly;

How did she even got here?
I mean… there was no ship present at the dock and everywhere was totally quiet, there’s practically none else out there, we are alone and that scares the shit out of me. I should have disappeared when I had the chance but something kept drawing me towards her, was it her beauty? I never could tell.

Allison?!..... That was the first time I called her name,

You’ve got any family, friends maybe or any acquaintance you know?

“She nodded in the negative.

After asking so much questions and getting a negative response to each of them, it seems like she remembered nothing else except for her name.

Come on, get up let me take you to someplace safe. She looked me up for the umpteenth time before trailing behind me. As much as I would like to take advantage of her naivety, the pity I felt for her made my intentions an honorable one. I keep staring over my shoulders and I could notice the way she stared at the disappearing fog with each distance trekked, it was as if she was deeply connected to it. I went back and dragged her along all the way to the market situated not far from the pier.

I looked her in the eyes with a little spark of confidence and I said; This is it!, you should be able to navigate your way from here”
Before I could take a step, “she replied amidst tears…….please don’t leave me here.”

I deafened my inner ears and left hurriedly, at least I’ve done all I could to help her, I was a bit disturbed but I returned home jettisoning what my emotions were trying to convey, I will get over her in a couple of hours….i said to myself without restraint. Hours passed, the whole day was gone and all I could feel then was a sense of dereliction of duty.

I hurriedly left home for the pier the next day, I sat down reminiscing on those last sentences she said before my departure the previous day. No matter how hard I tried, I just keep picturing her in my head and longing for her in my thought. The wait seems like eternity and I rose to leave dejected as the night creeps in, I hadn’t walked a metre and a half when I heard that melodious faint voice of hers, “please don’t leave me here, again.”

Not a chance! I exclaimed.

I ran and hugged her then carried her in my arms towards home, my thoughts were clear now and it was as if we have known each other for years. She smiled brightly, radiating her beauty. I bet...she’s so happy!

But i still don't know anything about her except for her name, i cared before, but not anymore and now all i could think about is that, "i wanted her more than anything, to be a part of my life."

To be my wife and carry our beautiful children in her wombs, maybe!

U5drefv7yAfzcJtobLnqqNob4SzeKM1_1680x8400.png

This is my entry to @thewritersblock 's Art Prompt Writing Contest.

Photo credit goes to @vaughndemont who won part one of this contest, and provided the photo to inspire a story.

image (8).png

Join us at The Writers Block on Discord.
A great community of writers there, helping each other get better at what they enjoy doing.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the Steemit community! Thanks for the great post! @steemitcentral has upvoted your post. ALWAYS follow @Steemitcentral and use the steemitcentral tag to get upvotes! You may also consider my paid upvote services. Cheerrsss!!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Aduragbemi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.89
ETH 2421.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44