Thieves - [Writers Block Poetry Contest Week 1]

in #twbpoetrycontest6 years ago (edited)

Your most mundane I turn morose,
A common thief am I,
(poetry preview only)




This is an entry for the first Writers’ Block Poetry Contest







Photo by @negativer

Join us at The Writers Block on Discord.
A great community of writers there, helping each other get better at what they enjoy doing.

Sort:  

I really like this one. I think maybe because of the rhyme scheme, some good turns of phrase in there!

Maybe because I wrote it when I was thinking about you and me?

Wow!

I'm immersed in each line.

"

There is no smile on your pretty face,
Just unblinking shallow eyes.
Two thin wet puddles on a plate of skin,
Flower petals soaked with lies
Kinda feels sad though"

So much vividness in expression. Argh!

Thanks! It's definitely a bit sad, but anyone that goes through a fight in a relationship probably knows what this feels like.

Yeah, I do

Had a fight once
I didn't love my girlfriend any more and wanted to end things.
Told her the truth, but she felt we could still make it work.
Had to make her angry with me to leave me.
Ain't pound of it, but it's better than staying in a relationship that's going no where

shivers It just got cold in here. The photo matches maybe too well, and for some reason I see mud when I read this. Like, not mud as in bad, just mud as in the brown stuff that water and dirt make when they fall in love.

Thanks @caleblailmusik! I chose it because it's a night pic, and goes with the phrase 'thieves in the night'. But I love your interpretation too.

Very nice Neg. Very emotive.

Thanks! I wouldn't have picked you as a poetry reader, but I'm glad you stopped by! :)

I laughed aloud when I read that comment!

Indeed, you're kind of right in a way. Not my usual consumer moment.

However in what @Sigrfolkr calls a "Ludickurous" moment I have written all sorts of cultural information to add to my work. This includes poetry and folklore music. Maybe one day I will try make something out of it.

In the meantime I read stuff like yours as an inspiration, an example and I am trying to decide which of my characters would like your poem! The ones who would be reading poetry anyway. Some characters might even feel the way that your poetry feels about and... and that is me doing the overboard thing again.

In summary - I liked this poem!

Makes me sad, though im no expert. Nice piece.

The sweetest sounds to leave your lips
I know I'll hear no more.

You're an expert at being a human, so if it makes you feel something, then it did it's job :) Thanks for reading!

Haha...human expert. Thanks for posting

I loved it! I really hope u win the contest.

Strong words for strong people! Thanx a lot @negativer!

Thanks for reading!

nice bro its a decent expression... be well

A lone ranger on the lane
Spied a helping hand
And flew to his arms
With a welcome embrace

Here I come

Nice mood evoked. Love the title image too

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by negativer 🥓 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58000.61
ETH 3105.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42