#72: Run Away, Girl - Writers Block Poetry Contest Week 6

in #twbpoetrycontest7 years ago (edited)

With the help of this poem, I've tried to address the issue of domestic violence and it's impact on a person. The world might be progressing but it's a shame to know that such things still prevail in the society.

IMG_20180101_144424.jpg

RUN AWAY, GIRL

The canoe rocked over the waves,
While I sat on the pier, brooding about the past.
Tired of being my husband's slave,
I've decided to run away at last.

Sick of the abuses, sick of the cuts and bruises,
There's no place to run, nowhere to hide.
Sick of the forced sex, sick of the false accuses,
Tired of being kicked when I put up a fight.

My mind's made, I need to escape,
Far away from the devil's hands.
But how do I avoid the scrape?
'Cause the storm's brewing and destruction it demands.

So I sit there all alone, split in two minds,
Behind me lies torture and ahead lies the storm.
I get up slowly to untie the canoe and leave behind the land,
I'd rather face death happily than live with a nasty swarm!

Screen Shot 2018-03-17 at 6.21.18 PM.png


This is my entry in the poetry contest hosted by @thewritersblock. I do hope more people participate in the contest. All images used are mine (The first one has me in the frames while the second was clicked by me on a trip to Kodaikanal).

Sort:  

Beautiful poem @hungry-nomad i like to read it..

Nice issue that you entry to poem. Keep up writing
By the way, I have poetry for the contest. Maybe you want to give me feedback. Thanks
https://steemit.com/poetry/@anggreklestari/destiny-writers-block-poetry-contest-week-6

Thanks for reading...I loved your poem as well...

My pleasure. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59220.04
ETH 2316.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51