The Defenders Episode 1 Review – No Spoilers

in #tv7 years ago (edited)

The Defenders.jpg

It’s a set up episode! Yes, I can’t binge watch. I’m incapable of it, sorry.

They are back! Krysten Ritter as Jessica Jones, Charlie Cox as Daredevil, Mike Colter as Luke Cage and Finn Jones as Danny Rand. I’ve missed Jessica Jones’s sarcasm, anti-social behavior and her heart. I even missed some of the villains and I hope we get to see some more of them along the way.

Yes, it’s a set up episode. Some of it is good and some of it is bad. It was a slow episode, but I think it was to be expected from the tone of the previous shows. I think we are in for a more mystery season, than an action packed one, although there is some action in this episode. Also, I think we will see how some elements that were placed in Daredevil and Iron Fist will come together at last, giving the views a sense of good world building.

I don’t think that you must watch all of the characters shows before watching The Dedenders. I will be honest, I did not watch Iron First and Luke Cage and I felt that if I haven’t read what their shows were about, I wouldn’t understand this episode quite as well, but reading an article was enough for me. On the other hand, we see Matt Murdock again, and if you are waiting, like me, for some resolve of on a big issue from his show, I think you’ll have to wait for season 3. So, even though these are Daredevil show runners, I think he’s part of the episode was the most confusing part.

Alexandra.jpg

Sigourney Weaver as the main villain is just a pleasure to watch. As Alexandra her motives are clear from the start, you can understand her and even identify with her to a certain limited extent. I think we are in for another excellent Marvel-Netflix villain.

It was still strange how when the camera focused on each character, the background lightening and music was different, it made you feel like the characters are still in different shows. It’s original, but strange on the eyes.

As all good episodes in a binge-watching format it ended on a cliffhanger. Not interesting enough to make me watch the next immediately.

I give it 6/10.

Please follow me and upvote my posts to help yourself stay up to date with everything that is nerdy and awesome.

See you in my next post.

Sort:  

I only watched the first episode last night, I don't like binge watching, but if the rest of the season is as slow as this first one only to ramp up at the very end I might do two at a time just so at least I get payoff when watching and it's over quicker. Agreed with the thoughts that it felt a little weird on the characters switching, I understand they aren't a team yet so hopefully that direction won't last long. Sigourney Weaver was good, I am trying to stay off spoilers to see if she is in fact an established character or a new one created for the show. Good review, you should try and watch Iron Fist, it is somehow the crappiest of all the Marvel Netflix shows, yet it is the easiest to digest and a little fun to watch.

I don't read a lot of comic books so I don't know who Alexandra should be. I didn't read heroes of hire and the likes. I also try to avoid spoilers, so good luck to us (I suffer enough with Game of Thrones). I have hopes for the show though, it was a slow episode, but it showed promise in my opinion. Besides, I can watch Jessica Jones all day.

Congratulations @readingdanvers! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Is it worth watching if I didn't like TV series with Jessica Jones and Daredevil? Luke Cage was quite normal for me.

I think that if you don't like half of the cast than perhaps there is no point in watching it. The main plot is more Daredevil/Iron Fist based.
At this point I would watch anything with Jessica Jones in it, I love that character.

Well, I was really sorry not to like Jessica Jones because I like Krysten Ritter. Anyway maybe after watching The Defenders I would give Jessica Jones one more chance)))

The strange thing is, I don't like Krysten Ritter at all, her real voice is annoying! She made this characters amazing though.

well, I've never heard her real voice). She sounds cool in Russian voice-over)

She sounds cool on the show as well, but listen to her in interviews. It's so funny.
I guess they improved Russian voice-over since when I was I child, when I listened to it, it was a just one person doing all movies and all voices, so monotonous. Plus, my Russian is terrible so I barley understood anything.

I'll start watching this soon. I only saw Jessica Jones and Ironfist. I just couldn't enjoy Daredevil til the end of the first episode and Luke Cage just didn't look interesting to me at all. So I'm very curious to see how I'll like this one. I'll mostly watch it, because I really liked Jessica Jones as a character.

Me too, she's my favorite as well. So far, she doesn't disappoint.

Sounds interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56