Altered Carbon TV Series Review

in #tv7 years ago

As someone who is a sci fi fan,  I couldn't pass up the opportunity to binge watch the latest Netflix series, Altered Carbon.

Altered Carbon is based off of the same box series written by Richard K. Morgan.

Basically, Altered Carbon is set in the distant future where people are able to transfer their consciousness from one body to the next. Transfer from one body to the next would be called "sleeves" ... where human bodies are now simply something just to download or upload your consciousness from one body to the next.

In this world, the rich and wealthy are the only ones able to afford the nicer, younger sleeves. The majority of the poor just accept whatever old or broken sleeves are left over. 

As well, the rich and wealthy colloquially call themselves "Meths" ... which is the shorten phrase for the Biblical guy, Methuselah, who lived up to 963 years old. Hence, the rich can keep living basically forever by uploading their consciousness from one sleeve to the next.

Altered Carbon basically is TV series of sci fi murder mystery series all bundled up into one, taking inspiration from Matrix and Blade Runner.

Some other themes I enjoyed seeing in the show include the depiction of income inequality, where the rich and wealthy live in luxury high rises above the clouds, while the poor live down below, where it rains constantly.

As well, the show clearly depicts inequality with the health care system, where to get immediate, quality service, you would need to be wealthy. People exchange wealth not by currencies, but simply by scanning their hand or spitting their "DNA" into a payment processor. This in ways, reminds me of how our currencies will eventually evolve, where we'd no longer have paper or coin currencies, but simply have digital currencies. That's where I see cryptocurrencies going is providing that digital way for wealth exchange.

Lastly, and the toughest for most people to stomach, is the show's depiction of violence and abuse against women, as well as those who work in the sex industry / prostitution. The show does not hide against graphic violence and nudity. This is probably the main reason why the show got lower marks for showing nudity and violence, but I do believe its necessary, as these problems are prevalent in today's society.

Actually, the income inequality, bad healthcare access, as well as human trafficking and violence against prostitutes, are very much huge problems that still need to be addressed in "today's" society.

I don't want to give away much of the plot of the show, so hence why I described mostly about the overarching topics that I found the show cover well.

I believe the show got mixed reviews, however, I'm giving it high marks for great depiction of a future society.


(Above image is the Altered Carbon Netflix TV series)

Have you seen Altered Carbon? What do you think of this series?


Sort:  

I watched the first episode about a week or two ago, and I wasn't anticipating it to be so long so I didn't watch anymore. Does it get better after that? It seemed just a little slow, but I did like the hotel surveillance/defense system, lol

I thought it got better after the first 2 episodes. I think why it was slow in the first two episodes was we needed to get used to what this futuristic world was like. I think that might have been why people were put off by the show at first.

Out of the Netflix series, Altered Carbon, Travelers, and Black Mirror are in similar genres of the cyber punk / sci-fi / futuristic type shows.

Yeah, I get the whole having to introduce the world to the audience, it just seemed to me it could have been done in a lot less time. I'd rather there be at least a tad bit more action/story progression to get me hooked into the universe and story of the series. I will probably watch more soon though, when I have a decent enough chunk of time to sit down and watch it. I have travelers on my list too, haven't started it yet, and black mirror is great, though there are a couple episodes that are kind of boring but still pretty interesting.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.38$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

I've just finished watching the show yesterday and i can say it made me wanna watch more! It.s an intriguing thriller that keeps your mind busy throughout the whole season!
Great job on the review!

its kind of a good serial. love the effect

I have never seen that before... Netflix always offer you a diversity of drama, action and love. I have to watch it and after that I can tell you what is my opinion of that serie

Hubby & I semi-binged the series over the course of four or five days (would've been done sooner if it weren't for silly little things like work, feeding the family, and stuff - LOL). Overall, I really enjoyed it, and have my fingers crossed they bring it back for a second season.

Thank you for this inspiration and hint, I start to watch it right now, I see the cortical stacks as today's arts, science, books knowledge that remaines for our descendants, an aspect that makes the whole story horrifying real for me in a good way

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78