Haunting of Hill House (series - Netflix): It keeps getting worse

in #tv5 years ago

Well, on day one I was in awe at the direction, story, and inventive characters. I then watched 2 more episodes that really dragged on, had very little action and lowered the overall rating but I still had hope. Tonight I watched 2 more episodes which brings us all the way through EP 7.

There are no spoilers in this entry so don't be afraid.

3ZP9B6~1.JPG

I come bearing bad news unfortunately. Episodes 6 and 7, in particular episode 6, might be some of the worst television I have seen in a long time. The script is just awful and the entire episode feels as though it was put on by a local theater in 2 weeks. I don't know why this episode exists, it is horrible and the acting isn't very good either. It is as if the stars of the show realize it is crap and have trouble making anything of it even though all of their performances up to now were pretty great. These are 2 episodes of filler... just filler. This would make sense if there were commercials but this is Netflix - a long season isn't necessary.

45156389502_c2576c8270_b.jpg

Rather than having any real story the various members of the family just constantly argue with one another for an hour, many times talking over one-another and interrupting. Also, despite the fact that every single one of them has seen apparitions of some sort throughout the other episodes NONE OF THEM will believe the crazy things that their family members have seen. It is just some of the worst dialogue I have ever experienced in any higher-budget series in quite some time. Plus the director thought it would be a good idea to have the cameras circling around the family so now we get motion sickness as well as boredom.

merlin_144973173_4a93e5d7-7467-409f-b0c8-4165e304630c-articleLarge.jpg

Another problem is these 2 episodes aren't even remotely scary. Only one thing that can be considered frightening even happens and well, that was shocking but then the two sisters involved get right back to arguing with each other about some irrelevant sh*t rather than focusing on the fact that a ghost just basically attacked both of them.

There is a meme out there that says "I rolled my eyes so hard that I saw my own brain" or something along those lines and these two episodes are an eye-rolling bonanza.

I can't believe this is the same series. The director has also abandoned the really cool methods that were being used in the first 5 episodes where each episode was being told through the eyes of a different family member. Why did they stop doing that? It was really fantastic.

This show is spiraling towards mediocrity and that is really disappointing to me because it had so much promise at the start. There are still a few episodes left and I certainly hope that they were able to reel it back in, because at this rate, if it gets worse, i am going to run out of points to deduct.

Phase 1 : 9 / 10
Phase 2 : 7 / 10
Phase 3 : 3 / 10

Overall Score (up to now)

5 / 10

Sort:  

"The script is just awful and the entire episode feels as though it was put on by a local theater in 2 weeks."

Thanks for reviewing this show.
I don't know what Netflix is doing, but I have seen a couple of shows like this.
They start great and after 2 or 3 episodes it basically sucks.
What a shame. 🙈😀

Apparently this is something that happens in all Netflix series. They start so well that they catch you and you want more, but there are some horrible chapters, as you say, filling. It's there that the desire to continue seeing and running is removed. I'm going to wait for you to finish it and tell us if it's still worth seeing. But I don't know, the score you've given her is bad, she's going down. Well, I'm waiting for you so I don't embark hahaha. A hug, @gooddream.

stranger things I think is the exception to what you are saying.

This show is so over retied. I watched it after being told it was at a new level of scary. It never scared me at all. I have to wounder if the things I hear about this show, like the national radio show host that got me to check it out, are just payed for by Netflix.

Dam it ! I was hoping this was not going to be the case! I’m still going to watch and see :)

The way the score is decreasing, I think you should leave it before it reaches 0/10. 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

i started this journey, i am going to finish it. There was once a really nice book I read called Life of Pi that had like 180 pages in a row that were dreadfully boring, then the story became one of the best things I had ever read. I hope that this happens with this series, but i am not getting my hopes up :)

Yes mate, u r absolutely right.. Life is in expectable so do netflix... You really should go for it... 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

It seems like you are not a fan of this series now, anyway Its a recommendation, do watch Kissing both, if you like some young love and drama. anyways keep up with such amazing content.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98