Generation Iron 3 (Netflix show) - good, but for a very specific audience

in #tv5 years ago (edited)

As the title page clearly represents, this is a documentary about bodybuilding. This isn't just about people trying to get and stay in shape, this is about the extremes of fitness on a level that I have never really understood.


source

There are vein-filled flex pictures like the one above all over my gym and when I see them I always think the same thing: "Why would anyone want to look like that?" Personally I don't know anyone who is attracted to this but there seems to big a rather large segment of society that is very much into turning themselves into action figures.

900.jpg
source

I can and do appreciate the level of dedication to lifting and diet that these guys put themselves through and it is extreme to a level that I could never achieve (there is a part about the women competitors too, but mostly the show focuses on the fellas.)

It is interesting to see into the lives of these guys and how a vast majority of them don't really even make a living off of it - almost all of the interviewees have "real jobs" first. I lift weights at least 4 times a week so it was a bit of a learning experience but for the most part the stuff these guys do in the gym would simply squash me to death immediately.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iVErZQbmON8

One thing I wish they had focused on more was the steroids. They only talk about it for about 2 minutes when a doctor says that literally all of the competitors are on steroids - and I suppose that this doesn't really surprise anyone. However, I think they steered away from this topic because the primary objective of the show was to glorify these people's lives, not to make them look like drug addicts.

Overall, I found this show interesting because I lift. However, I realize that people who don't probably wouldn't like it as much as I did or maybe they wouldn't like it at all. If anything the show gives and insight into the incredible level of discipline that these athletes have and even though I don't want to look like these guys, it doesn't matter because I do not possess that sort of dedication to anything really.

For me this show was a

spweh.jpg

but i think for the vast majority of viewers out there in the world it would probably rate as

Element_Meh_Banner_300x300.jpg

Sort:  

Another documentary added to my watch list.
I work out 3 times a week. Some improvements are welcome and then I am 100% happy.
A monstrous look like the guy above is way too much. I like the movie with Arnie, Pumping Iron, tons of muscles too. Way better.

I am with you. I don't see why anyone would want to look like that. I agree it probably takes a lot of dedication and commitment, but the extremes they go to are just crazy. I have seen a couple of women basically end up looking like men because they just went too far trying to achieve that perfect body building look.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65578.21
ETH 2613.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67