F is for Family (Netflix show) season 1 first impressions

in #tv6 years ago

I will start out by saying that I really want to like this a lot more than I do, because I am a massive fan of Bill Burr's standup and believe he is one of the best stand-up comedians of all time (many online lists agree with this notion.)

The story follows the Murphy family and their suburban life and mostly focuses on Frank (voiced by Bill Burr) as he goes through his midlife crisis in the 70's. This is actually a pretty accurate representations of a typical middle-class family as I understood them during that time although they certainly are a lot more foul-mouthed than my family ever was (I don't think I ever heard my father say a swear word until i was in my 30's.)


Also, at least in the country that I come from it is now extremely rare for any family to have a stay-at-home Mom. For those of you that are old enough(and I am), you can remember a time where it was actually quite rare for any of your friends' mom to not be stay at home types. I mean, I don't think any of my friends' moms went to work and that is probably why everyone had a million kids. Times change!


The art seems very reminiscent of King of the Hill and No, i am not trying to say they stole the style. There are only so many ways to animate something after-all.

The characters are pretty funny including the rebellious older son who picks on his siblings but will defend them to the death if any other kids dare pick on them. This was very reminiscent of me and my own family members. Like most siblings at the time, we spent a lot of time beating eachother up, but if anyone else in the neighborhood dared do the same it would bring out a rage the likes of which the family unit never sees.

I think that my favorite character is probably the next door neighbor "Vic" (voiced by Sam Rockwell)


source

Vic is wealthy, has awesome and expensive toys, is a womanizer and is in fantastic shape, yet he is a very friendly dude. Of course Frank hates him because he is jealous of how he always has some hot lady with him (at least one) and is always going and doing exciting things like taking his speedboat out again.

This series is the opposite of SJW and just like Bill Burr's standup, that is exactly the idea. He intentionally tries to get people triggered and if you look online you can see that he achieves his goal on a regular basis. However, he is not misrepresenting the 70's at all. That is almost exactly how life was back then before we became a nanny state and everyone got their feelings hurt over just anything. I haven't watched much of it, but I plan to watch all of it. I can see it getting old because mostly the show is about Frank (Burr) being angry all the time and it kind of gets a little old.

However, in this day of safe spaces and overly PC everything, i am happy this show exists and I will continue to support it.

Sort:  

Hey, something I have watched aleady, Lol!
I like Frank, and his neighbour Vic is cool indeed. I think his girlfriend is even more interesting . :)
Frank's boss is the biggest jerk ever.
Season 2 is better than 1, so keep it up.

Bill Burr is one of my favorites too!

I did not know this show, and I did not know Bill would work on it, this will go to my list immediately.

I never watch cartoons but this shit is hilarious!! Bill Burr as the voice of the main character makes it work 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Really?
Family Guy is awesome too.

Bill Burr is the best.

I started watching this a few weeks ago and I think it's very funny. Frank definitely reminds me of my dad when I was growing up. He was the only one in the family that could get away with a lot of cursing. Also, us growing up in the 70's and 80's...it was just so much more easy going. My parents would leave me at home alone when I was ten, just to get some shopping done. It was never a problem (and I LOVED it) but try to do it now, and your neighbours will surely ring CPS... I'm Dutch, and partly grew up in Germany, but my dad was very much like this guy. And the number of times I heard him say he'd put his foot up my butt (like the dad in 'That 70's show)....I can't even count them anymore. It didn't traumatize me...unlike nowadays, you can't say anything to your kids anymore without raising some eyebrows in public. I live in Ireland now, and even though people still use the wooden spoon at home to shut down their kids, mostly as a threat, in public, it would be a different thing...

Despite I am a huge fan of cartoons for grown ups like South Park, Rick and Morty etc, I only watched one episode and thought "meeh, I rather watch something else"

Did you watch Bojack Horseman?

not yet... you recommend it?

YES!!!111!!!

Thank you for this recommendation, @gooddream, I think it's worth the time and adding it to the list. These days I need a little laughter and relaxation in the middle of the country situation we live :(
A hug and happy day for you.

🏆 Hi @gooddream! You have received 0.5 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe and increase the reward for @gooddream :) | For investors.

By just hearing your analysis of this show makes me want to watch it at all means because the storyline is a true resemblance of how things were with me and my siblings when we were still very small, we can fight and hit each other's at home but when we go outside we always protects ourselves like a unit from any aggression @gooddream

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I definitely have to watch that show. Your review is brilliant and very helpful.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75