Black Mirror Season 1 (TV show): Brief review of each

in #tv6 years ago

Someone suggested that I do this and it was a good idea. @xrplover , i am giving some of the rewards from this post your direction since it was your idea.

I think Black Mirror is one of the best series out there. That being said, some episodes are epic and haunt you for days, others are a bit "meh" and there are a few that are not great and turn people off to the series in general. I am going to very briefly tell my opinion and give a rating - I want to do this so that people can perhaps look at the ones i say are awesome and see if we agree :)

This is all from season 1 and there were only 3 episodes in total.

EP. 1 "The National Anthem" Score = 2 / 10

1 MRau_E9M2sRoHkBETsCn-Q.png

This, in my opinion is the worst episode not just of season 1 but of the entire franchise. I nearly didn't watch any more of them because of this and it was just because of the fact that the net was down and the rest of the season was the only thing that I had locally to watch that I did see more of them. This one is not good at all in my opinion.


Ep. 2 "15 Million Merits" 8 / 10

black_mirror.jpg

This is where i think the series finds its motif that ends up sticking with it for a vast majority of future episodes. This is where technology and being online in every aspect of our life is hinted at not necessarily being a good thing. They also include hints of annoying advertising because increasingly intrusive in our lives and how eventually we are headed to a point where it will be almost impossible to avoid.

I believe this to be one of the best episodes in the franchise.


Ep. 3 "The Entire History of You" 8 / 10

the-entire-story-of-you.jpg

You know how almost everyone has a smartphone? Do you remember the days when if someone was bullshitting you about some "fact" or a movie line or something like that you couldn't just immediately pull up google to find out what the true answer is? You remember when we had to think as a team to solve something rather than just letting the internet do all the heavy lifting? Ok, well this episode addresses how technology is headed to taking that a step further with an ocular implant that records everything you actually ever see and allows you to play it back and enhance etc. any time anyone wants.

While this sounds like fun the episode does a great job showing how dangerous and problematic technology like this really could be.

That was it for season 1.

I don't know if they didn't have much faith in the concept yet and wanted to test the waters or if they always planned on the season only having a few episodes. The just a couple episodes whenever we feel like releasing them is quite common in U.K. productions so it may have been their intention all along.

If I were you, i would say watch episode 2 and 3, perhaps in reverse order to see if you like Black Mirror. Episode 1 can be skipped entirely.

Sort:  

Very cool that you are reviewing Black Mirror!
What a way to start this show, episode 1 is crazy. I remember watching this with a friend and we nearly stopped halfway this episode. 8/10 for episode 2 and 3, so we need to watch these. Thank you!

you are the reason why this review set is happening pal. :) haha

Thanks mate! 😎

Oh, man Black Mirror is fucking amazing. I watched all seasons already and I want more!

From season 1, I liked ''The entire history of you" the most.

i agree with you. :)

Check out Channel Zero on sci fi if you like black mirror

will do. never heard of it. thanks for the tip!

Perfect, I think I agree with what you say, with the exception that I would not give such a low score to The National Anthem, although there are things that I did not like about the chapter, I thought it was interesting the moral dilemma of the prime minister in the chapter. But it's true, it does not seem to be a very good chapter. In the same way, I think the episode that I liked the least was Hated in the Nation. Although this episode is not in this season.

upvote!

the gif you have included is what i consider to be perhaps the best that BM ever did.

It is one of the best without doubt, I really do not have a favorite episode, but this could be.

Thanks for the series run down
I saw, ans enjoyed, a few shows, but missed most of those you mentioned here.
It was a clever series, and very timely
Did you see the one in which someone was being pursued relentlessly by people videoing them on mobile phones?

Spoiler Alert



It was their punishment for having videod themselves committing a murder
Very well done episode





Spoiler End

Then there was the show in which a dead person 's likeness and personality were given life, but then their loved one got fed up of them

I have seen all the episodes.. none of them have happy endings that I can think of

Ohh I have not watched Black mirror yet, this was insightful review though. and yes, whenever you feel so do watch Americana Vandal, if you want to see some suspense.
Anyways, keep up with such amazing content.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Great post. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 57297.27
ETH 3101.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41